EBook Collections--Use Table
You may have arrived here from DiscoverE when you clicked on the link for "how to use this ebook."
How do you know which of the following is applicable to your title? Look for the link "online resource from [ . . .]."
| Download to PC/Tablet/Ipad | Download to Handheld | DRM | Format | Checkout + Number of Users | Printing | Catalog Presence | |
|
(Humanities ebooks) |
Yes |
No | No | HTML | No checkout necessary; unimited users | Yes, three pages at a time | Individual titles available in DiscoverE |
| APA Psychology Titles |
Yes, chapter at a time |
Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes | Individual titles available in DiscoverE | |
| American Society of Chemistry |
Yes, chapter at a time |
Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes | Individual titles available in DiscoverE | |
|
|
Yes |
Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | PDF, by chapter | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Printing is restricted to 20% of each ebook, copying and pasting is 5% | Individual titles available in discoverE; not all titles on Cambridge Platform available |
| Credo Reference | Yes | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | PDF, by chapter/entry | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes |
Individual titles available in DiscoverE and Aleph
|
| DeGruyter | Yes | Yes | No | PDF, by chapter | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes | Individual titles available in DiscoverE and Aleph |
| EBL |
Yes, but becomes inactive when checkout period is over. |
Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | Must download Adobe Digital Editions | 4 or 7 days; must access using Network ID and password; multiple user | Printing is restricted to 20% of each ebook, copying and pasting is 5% | Individual titles available in DiscoverE | |
| EBrary | Yes, but becomes inactive when checkout period is over | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | Adobe Digital Editions | 4 or 7 days; must access using Network ID and password; some single, some multiple users | Printing is restricted to 20% of each ebook, copying and pasting is 5% |
Individual titles in DiscoverE
|
|
|
(previously NetLibrary) |
Yes, but becomes inactive when checkout period is over |
Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need Bluefire reading app; e-books do not work on smaller screens such as iPhone or iPod touch | Must download Adobe Digital Editions | Patron chooses checkout period from one to seven days; most titles unlimited number of users | Printing is restricted to 30 pages for online-only e-books and 60 pages for downloadable e-books | Individual titles in discoverE. EBSCO allows downloading for some e-books but not for others. Each record has section on "publisher restrictions." Support is available on the EBSCO website | |
| ECCO | Individual pages or images only | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | None | PDF or TIFF | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Up to 60 pages at a time | |
| EEBO | Yes, up top 250 pages as PDF | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | None | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes, but first download as PDF | ||
| Elsevier | Yes, by chapter | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; ulimited users | Yes, chapter at a time, once downloaded | You can limit search to ebooks; note that Emory does not have access to all Elsevier ebook titles. | |
| Emory Digitized Editions | Yes | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes, once downloaded as PDF | Check out the Digitization webpage for our collections | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | Yes, by chapter/entry | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Individual titles available in DiscoverE | ||
| Google Books | Yes, for public domain (out of copyright) titles only | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | PDF, ePub | No checkout necessary; unimited users | Yes, once downloaded | Perform a search on Google books to locate available titles. |
| Hathi Trust | Yes, entire book, not chapter | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | None | No checkout necessary; unlimited users. However, must choose Emory as the participating institution | Yes, entire book |
Use DiscoverE Advanced Search for HT titles in the public domain |
|
| Internet Archive | Yes | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices | No | Various (PDF, Kindle, ePub, etc) | No checkout necessary; unlimited users | Yes, once downloaded | Perform a search for Emory University for titles from our collections currently available on IA |
| OECD iLibrary | Yes | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | Yes, once downloaded; unimited users | Yes, entire book | Must visit OECD iLibrary database to access titles; also includes materials from UNiLibrary | ||
| Overdrive | yes, entire book | Requires download of application from Overdrive site, Kindle supported | Yes, must download app from Overdrive | PDF, ePub | Checkout for two weeks;single user | n/a | Individual titles now available through DiscoverE |
| Yes, chapter at a time | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | PDF, XML | No checkout necessary; unimited users | Yes, chapter at a time, once downloaded | 22 Bibliographies and 5 Handbooks currently subscribed; for Handbooks see Databases@Emory and in DiscoverE | |
| Project Muse University Presses and JSTOR | Yes, chapter at a time | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; unimited users | Yes, chapter at a time, once downloaded | Individual subscribed titles are available in DiscoverE | |
| Safari Books Online | No | Books can be read in the Web browser but not downloaded and read offline. | Yes | No checkout necessary; up to five simultaneous users | Yes, a page at a time | Individual titles available in discoverE, or you can go directly to Safari Books Online to discover titles. | |
| Royal Society of Chemistry E-Books | Yes, chapter level only | Yes | No |
|
No checkout necessary | yes, as PDF | Individual titles available in DiscoverE and Aleph |
| Sage Research Methods Online | Most files as HTML, can download PDF for some, but lose page numbers | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | HTML | No | PDF, ePub; unimited users | Yes, as PDF, but will lose original page numbering | Individual titles available in discoverE and Aleph; access full text titles by clicking on green button. |
| Springer | Yes, by chapter | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; ulimited users | Yes, chapter at a time, once downloaded | Individual titles in discoverE; not all titles are available. You may use SpringerLink. | |
| Wiley (Psychology Collections and Others) | Yes, by chapter | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | No | No checkout necessary; ulimited users | Yes, chapter at a time, once downloaded | Specific collection of imprints (2010 to 2012), individual titles in discoverE | |
| World Bank eLibrary | Yes | Yes (download or transfer from PC), but need app such as iBooks or Good Reader for Apple devices, but not Kindle | None | Yes, entire book; unimited users | Yes, entire book | Some titles, but not all in DiscoverE. |