HIST585/ REL700: Histories of Religions in the US
Section A: Introductions & Overview (2:30-2:40)
Discussion: What is your biggest research/ writing strength? Weakness?
Overview of Emory Libraries: Research Collections & Services
Section B: Secondary Sources for writing literature and historiographical reviews (2:40-3:10)
A. Curated conversations
i. Handbooks & Companions (ie. Cambridge Companions, Blackwell Companions)
ii. Bibliographies (ie. Oxford Bibliographies)
iii. Review Essays & Roundtables (ie. Reviews in American History and)
B. Navigating library catalogs
i. Library Search: keyword vs. subject heading searches
Metadata: Knowing how various collections are described can be essential to finding what you need. Take theses and dissertations, for example. To find dissertations from Emory from the History Department, the best terms to search are EMORY THESIS PH.D and HISTORY and not the term dissertations.
C. Understanding the core databases
iii. Google Scholar and Library links
Section C: Maximizing your time (3:10-
What questions or concerns do you have about organizing your research? Here are some of my suggestions for enhancing your productivity:
i. Sign up for a library carrels: https://libraries.emory.edu/services/individual-study-rooms.html
ii. Use bibliographic managers like Zotero. The library offers workshops to get your started. They are well worth your time!
iii. Schedule a consultation with our Research Data Librarian to determine a useful file structure for your work.
iv. Explore productivity tools to help with writing and organization:
Section D: Activities (Time Permitting!)
In groups of 2 or 3 discuss the following:
Choose one of the following resources:
How might these be useful for your work?
The preferred citation mode for historians is typically the Chicago Manual of Style. To cite correctly in Chicago style consult the abbreviated Turabian guide, see these examples from Purdue’s OWL, or follow this link to the Chicago Manual of Style Online.
Research Tip: Most databases have a citation generator built in. They provide a good starting place, but you should always double check the citation since they can be prone to error.