Research Guides: United States History Research Guide: NRSG 335: Historical Foundations of Health Disparities in the US

Library Catalog

Use Library Search to search for materials across all of Emory Libraries, including books, e-books, journals, newspapers, archival collections, media, and more.

Not finding what you need? Consult these search tips.

Subject Databases

Health Science

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Need help with PubMed? Consult this excellent guide. Need help searching for literature in PubMed about racial disparities? Check out this guide. Here's a list of complex search phrases that you can use to find material about racial disparities in the database.

History & Humanities

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.

Article Aggregators

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.

Articles+
Articles+ provides access to millions of scholarly publications harvested from commercial publishers and open-access repositories.

Newspapers

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
ProQuest African American Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Black Newspapers provides a record of social change spanning almost a century. Covers major events to everyday life; includes newspapers such as Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
All titles are the full electronic version of record.
NewspaperArchive This link opens in a new window
Provides current information and daily feeds from a wide variety of U.S. and international newspapers.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Contains local and regional historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Australia and other select countries.

Additional Primary Source Collections

Find a curated collection of primary sources related to the history of Healthcare. Much of this information was derived from this Guide to Race and Disease in American Medicine from the Yale University Libraries.

Free databases for downloadable primary sources

Office of Minority Health Resource Center
Collection of public health and consumer health information related to ethnic and minority populations in the United States.
The Grey Literature Report
Comprehensive collection of urban health resources produced by The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 and 2016.
Black Women's Health Study
The BWHS was organized in 1995 to address the small amount of health-related research geared toward Black women.
Posters and Prints from the National Library of Medicine
Over 70,000 historical images in its collection, including many on diseases.
Medical Heritage Library
Over 300,000 freely downloadable primary source books, many from 1780-1923.
The History of Vaccines
Created by The College of Physicians of Philadelphia, this database provides a chronicle of the history of vaccination.
Image Archive of the Eugenics Movement
An older site from Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, one of the major centers of American eugenics, this collection includes primary sources including letters, photographs, publications, and more.
Minority Health and Health Equity Archive
Materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy, including links to historical documents.
Tuskegee Syphilis Study (NLM)
Link to digitized files kept by the National Library of Medicine on the Tuskegee Syphilis Study.
Tuskegee Syphilis Study Admin Records (NARA Atlanta)
Includes photographs and records from the larger archival collection at the National Archives in Atlanta.

Primary source databases subscriptions from Emory

African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source materials related to race relations and African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
Race Relations in America: Surveys and Papers, 1943-1970 This link opens in a new window
Documents from the Race Relations Department at Fisk University and its influential Annual Institute. Primary source material includes surveys, interviews, statistics, educational pamphlets, administrative correspondence, photographs, and speeches.
History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Large digital collection of full-length, searchable interviews featuring prominent African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Access historical documents and digitized microfilm collections.