United States History Research Guide

Legal periodicals and court cases.

Contains federal and state codes, tax laws, and other sources.

Treatises on United States and British Commonwealth law.

Contains declassified U.S. government documents covering policy towards world events, especially in the areas of foreign policy and intelligence.

Database of congressional information and publications, some full-text, including congressional hearings, reports, the Congressional Record, public laws, and Statutes at Large. Also provides bill-tracking and legislative histories.

Standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. Searchable annual time series, adding thirty years of data since the last edition, including information from the 2000 U.S. Census. Data can be downloaded in Excel or CSV, printed, or graphed.

US congressional materials originating from 1789 and covering through 1838 but not published until the second and third quarters of the 19th century.

This digital collection is comprised of the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives that have been bound in sequential volumes sine 1817. These materials are a rich source of primary source documents on all aspects of American History. Presently, material from the 15th - 56th Congresses (1817-1900) is available in full text, with colored maps and an extensive index.

Includes the manuscript census via U.S. federal census roll images and indexes from 1790 to 1940.

Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Its contents include the entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2010.