United States History Research Guide

Publisher: Readex

Publisher: Gale

Publisher: Readex

Database of early twentieth century US newspapers including the Atlanta Constitution, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Tribune, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Digital collection of African American newspapers from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.

Digital Archive of major US newspapers from the early/late 1980s to the present.

Digital Archive of Spanish-language newspapers – some published in both Spanish and English - printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Comprehensive digital collection of major twentieth century African American newspapers.

Large digital collection of early American newspapers.

Digital collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. The database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes.

Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages.

Electronic Index Digital index to the daily reports issues by the US government from 1975-1996.

Digital archive of major world publications, newspapers, magazines, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and blogs from 1980 to the present

Local newspaper coverage from the late 1980s/early 1990s to the present.

Digitized newspapers crawled from miscellaneous web sources. Content is not comprehensive, but is nonetheless impressive for its breadth.

Compilation of Spanish-language newspapers – some published in both Spanish and English - printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Large collection of documents related to Civil Rights in the 20th century. Includes organizational (ie. NAACP papers, SNCC) and personal (Ida B. Wells) papers.

Documents detailing 20h century African American life in urban centers across the United States.

Digital Archive of personal narratives of immigrants to the United States and Canada, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral history interviews.

Major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social and genealogical researchers.

Part of series of digital collections from Duke University Libraries that charts the emergence of advertising in America.

Full text of momographs, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsides from Duke university's Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, and the New York Public Library.

Crowdsourced historical documents; uploaded by users.

Original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.

Digitized library of economic and business literature on topics like the Industrial Revolution, the development of modern capitalism, and the emergence of modern economics.

Online primary source and secondary source materials related to women in social movement in the U.S.

A major primary source collection for historical research. Includes digitized images of American periodicals from the colonial period through the beginning of the 20th century. More than 1,000 periodicals from all fields will be covered in the completed product.

Digital collection of current issues and backfiles of a number of leading U.S. opinion publications including the New Yorker (1925-present), the Nation (1865-present), Commentary (1945-present), the American Spectator (1967-present), the National Review (1955-present), New Republic (1914-present), Commonweal (1924-present), the New York Review of Books (1965-present), and Harper's (1850-present).

Database of legal journals and various government documents, such as the Foreign Relations of the United States, Federal Register, and League of Nations Official Journal.

The Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States are published by the Federal Register. It contains materials that were compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration. It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton.

Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives that have been bound in sequential volumes since 1817.

Collection of 22,000 treatises on American and British Commwealth law.

Large database of congressional hearings and publications.

Electronic Index Digital index to the daily reports issues by the US government from 1975-1996.

Database of searchable, full-text collections of declassified documents in areas of U.S. foreign policy and intelligence.

Collection of 22,000 treatises on American and British Commwealth law.