Contact Information
Portals to Primary Sources
Don't know where to start? Try one of the following database portals. They allow researchers to search across multiple databases produced by the same publisher.
Image Flickr: Cutty Sark, "question mark"
- Archive ExplorerPublisher: Adam Matthew
- ArtemisPublisher: Gale
- Archive ExplorerPublisher: Readex
Newspapers, Books, & Pamphlets
- America's Historical NewspapersLarge online collection of historic American newspapers.
- American Periodicals Series (APS)Historically significant periodicals from the 18th and 19th century.
- Burney CollectionThe largest digital collection of 17th and 18th century news media from Britain.
- America's Historical ImprintsDigital collection of early American imprints, broadsides and ephemera. Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collections: Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922; American Broadsides and Ephemera; Evans, 1639-1800; Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
- Early English BooksDatabase of over 125,000 early British titles.
- Sabin AmericanaLarge database of books related to the Americas.
- Eighteenth Century JournalsOnline access to early British newspapers and periodicals.
- Pennsylvania GazetteElectronic coverage of Franklin's newspaper, 1728-1800.
- South Carolina GazetteElectronic coverage of several colonial South Carolina newspapers, 1732-1780.
Digital Manuscript Collections
- British Archives OnlineDigitized manuscript collections and British government documents related to the Atlantic World.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeTransatlantic collection of primary sources on slavery and abolition.
- Ancestry Library EditionMajor source of census and other records of interest to historical, social and genealogical researchers.
- Virginia Company ArchivesDigital archive of manuscript collections that document the founding, economic development and social composition of colonial Virginia.
- Making of the Modern WorldDigitized library of economic and business literature on topics like the Industrial Revolution, the development of modern capitalism, and the emergence of modern economics.
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanIncludes documents from the 18th and 19th century Caribbean and the Atlantic World
Government Documents
- American State PapersRich source of material on Early America (1789-1838). Covers events such as the Lewis and Clark Expedition, Burr's Conspiracy, and Native American/European relations. See also U.S. Congressional Series Set (1817-1933) and Proquest Congressional.
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesStandard source for quantiative data of American history.