Need Help?
Selected Journals
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal. Publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
- American Indian Quarterly. AIQ is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits.
- Journal of American Indian Education. Founded in 1961, the Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a journal featuring original scholarship on education issues of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, and Indigenous peoples worldwide, including First Nations, Māori, Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander peoples, and Indigenous peoples of Latin America, Africa, and others.
- Native Peoples. (Popular content, not scholarly) The first and the largest, paid-circulation, consumer magazine devoted to the arts and cultures of the Indigenous peoples of the Americas. Founded in 1987, it has an estimated readership of over 100,000; with subscribers (most in the U.S.) and readers in 36 foreign countries. U.S. and Canadian newsstand distribution by Coast to Coast Magazines at Barnes & Noble, Hastings, etc.
- Studies in American Indian Literatures (SAIL). The only journal in the United States that focuses exclusively on American Indian literatures.
- Tribal Law Journal. The Tribal Law Journal was established in fall 1998 for the purpose of promoting indigenous self-determination by facilitating discussion of the internal law of the world's indigenous nations. The internal law of indigenous nations encompasses traditional law, western law adopted by indigenous nations, and a blend of western and indigenous law. Underscoring this purpose is the recognition that traditional law is a source of law.
- Wicazo Sa Review. Founded in 1985, Wicazo Sa Review is an interdisciplinary journal supporting indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits.
Databases and Indexes
- Bibliography of Native North AmericansIndex of published literature about native peoples of North America, including books, journal literature, conference papers, and U.S. & Canadian government documents.
- Anthropology PlusIt indexes articles and essays in over 2500 journals and edited works on all aspects of anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, geography, geology, genetics, psychology, religion and sociology.
- Hein Online - Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & LawDedicated to Indigenous American life and law, this collection includes an archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
- HRAF World Cultures (eHRAF)eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of ethnographic and other documents (including books, journal articles, and dissertations) on all aspects of cultural and social life.
- Sociological AbstractsA much larger database than Anthropology Plus and a great place to search for articles related to cultural anthropology.
- JSTORProvides searchable full-text access to backfiles (usually does not include issues of journals published within the last 5 years) of key scholarly journals in many fields including African American studies, African studies, anthropology, archaeology, Asian studies, business, classical studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, geography, history, history of science, language and literature, Latin American studies, mathematics, Middle East studies, philosophy, political science, population studies, Slavic studies, sociology, and statistics.
- North American Indian DramaThe database contains over 240 plays by 48 playwrights. Including a wealth of dramatic material, some of which was previously unpublished, overlooked, or inaccessible, this collection includes plays produced by the Native American Theatre Ensemble (NATE), Spiderwoman Theater, Toronto’s Native Earth Performing Arts, Seattle’s Red Eagle Soaring, and New York’s Coatlicue Theater Company. The collection includes American Indian and First Nation playwrights from groups including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navaho, and Rappahannock.
- Annual Reviews OnlineReview articles (that review the existing literature on specific topics) in the areas of biomedical, physical, and social sciences. This is a good place to start your research. It includes fantastic bibliographies that can lead you to related articles/books.
- Web of ScienceA great place to start for biological anthropology and related topics. Multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in science, social science, and the arts & humanities.
- Scopus (SciVerse Scopus)Among the largest databases of peer-reviewed literature. Scopus covers scientific, technical, medical, social sciences content, as well as some arts & humanities.
- PubMedA service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full-text articles and other related resources.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Language and Linguistics
- Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA)A digital language archive of recordings, texts, and other multimedia materials in and about the Indigenous languages of Latin America.
- Atlas of North American EnglishThe Atlas of North American English provides the first overall view of the pronunciation and vowel systems of the dialects of the U.S. and Canada. The Atlas re-defines the regional dialects of American English on the basis of sound changes active in the 1990s and draws new boundaries reflecting those changes.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldProvides a comprehensive listing as well as information, statistics and maps of the known living languages of the world. Also includes information on extinct languages. A separate Bibliography section indexes articles published by SIL language researchers.
- Linguistic Bibliography OnlineThe Linguistic Bibliography Online covers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.
- LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)Indexes journals, books, technical reports and dissertations covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Newspapers
- Indian Country TodayA leading national news source for Native peoples of North America.
- Native American TimesA national newspaper providing American Indian news and information.
- Native WebA list of Native and Indigenous newspapers from North America maintained by Native Web. The main page of the site also includes a news feed from around the world.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of U. S. newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses, searchable in English and Spanish. This database includes both current (1990-present) and historical (1960-1989) indexes.
- American Indian and Alaska native newspapers and periodicalsAn alphabetical listing of titles with appendixes containing lists of titles by chronology, location, and tribal affiliation, and an index