Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

Native American and Indigenous Studies

Databases

  • American Indian Histories and Cultures. Collection of primary sources for the study of Native American history and culture. Includes manuscripts, artworks and printed books derived from the Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library, one of the most comprehensive collections of Native American material in the United States.
  • American West. The American West is a digital collection of rare manuscripts, ephemeral material, and printed sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library of Chicago.
  • Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961. Confidential Print North America is a digital collection of British Foreign and Colonial Office files from the National Archives at Kew. Documents include reports, dispatches, weekly political summaries, and monthly economic reports pertaining to the United States, Canada, the Caribbean and Central America.
  • North American Indian Drama. The database contains over 240 plays by 48 playwrights. Including a wealth of dramatic material, some of which was previously unpublished, overlooked, or inaccessible, this collection includes plays produced by the Native American Theatre Ensemble (NATE), Spiderwoman Theater, Toronto’s Native Earth Performing Arts, Seattle’s Red Eagle Soaring, and New York’s Coatlicue Theater Company.  The collection includes American Indian and First Nation playwrights from groups including Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Hawaiian/Samoan, Comanche, Cree, Navaho, and Rappahannock.
  • Alexander Street Press Music Online. A streaming music database comprising of a wide variety of music: classical, American song, jazz, popular, contemporary world music, and historical world music from the Smithsonian Folkways label. Many albums are also discoverable via DiscoverE, but not all.
  • Naxos Music Library: World. Stream music from different cultures around the world, centering on the complete Smithsonian Folkways catalog while also providing thousands of additional recordings from other labels.

Image Collections and Online Exhibits

  • Denver Public Library Digital Collections. Over 30,000 photographs, drawn from the holdings of the Western History and Genealogy Department, illuminating many aspects of the history of the American West.
  • Early Images of Virginia Indians. Companion to an exhibit of prints of Native Americans made by Europeans in the late-16th and 17th centuries. Includes illustrated essays about interpreting historical images, invented scenes from narratives (such as the abduction of Pocahontas), and fanciful figures. From the Virginia Historical Society William W. Cole Collection.
  • Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian (1907-1930). A 20 volume set including over 1500 illustrations and 700 portfolio plates portraying the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes. The twenty volumes are organized by tribes and culture areas encompassing the Great Plains, Great Basin, Plateau Region, Southwest, California, Pacific Northwest, and Alaska.
  • George Catlin and His Indian Gallery.  An online exhibit from the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum. Catlin spent his life recording the customs and cultures of Native American tribes.
  • Images of Native Americans. A digital companion to an exhibit from 2000 of rare books, photographs, illustrations, and other archival and manuscript materials from the Bancroft Library at Berkeley University.
  • Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital CollectionThe collection consists primarily of photographs, but there are also ledger drawings, serigraphs, paintings and other media. The database is organized by tribe. Images are from the collections of Montana State University, the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.