Need Help?
Searching for Books and Films
Use the library catalog to find books, journals, videos, government documents, microfilm collections, and other materials. Emory has a large catalog of films related to anthropology and indigenous studies. DVDs and streaming media are included in the catalog, but may be difficult to identify. Contact the Anthropology Librarian if you need help identifying films on your topic.
- Ethnographic Video Online - Indigenous VoicesA collection of feature films and shorts made by and for Indigenous people and communities. Topics include the human effects of climate change, sustainability, Indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. Content partners include: preeminent artists like Hopi filmmaker Victor Masayesva, Samoan ethnographer Galumalemana Steven Percival, native Hawaiian director Eddie Kamae, and First Nations filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin.
Beyond Emory
We try to provide everything you need for your research, but no library can do it all. If you find something that we don't have, we'll get it for you from another library using interlibrary loan, or contact me fo additional help.
Tozzer Library
One of the great anthropology collections is at Harvard University in the Tozzer Library. The library collects comprehensively in all four subfields of anthropology and covers a broad geographic range with special emphasis on indigenous peoples of the Americas. Tozzer Library is also renowned for their collections of primary sources and other rare materials (e.g. Maya language materials, Spanish Colonial documents, and field notes).
Worldcat
This catalog searches the collections of more than 9,000 member institutions, including most of the major libraries in North America, and many in Western Europe and Australia. If you can't find what you're looking for at Emory or in the Tozzer Library at Harvard, this is a great place to look.
Browsing for Books in the Library
Books on Native American and Indigenous Peoples can be found throughout the collection including the sections for music, art, literature, and health sciences, so be sure to check the catalog or ask a librarian if you can't find what you need. Also check the Law School Library for books on Native American Law.
Note on LC classification and subject headings: Remember that while the LC classification system organizes a diverse body of knowledge, it reflects the worldview of those who created and may be is biased in certain ways. This is particularly important to keep in mind when looking for material related to Indigenous peoples, LGBTQ topics, and interdisciplinary topics. Kam (2007) provides a brief overview of some of the issues. View the complete Library of Congress Classification Outline here.
If you like to browse, try these call numbers in the Woodruff Library or contact a librarian for additional suggestions.
- E51 - E73 Pre-Columbian America
- E75 - E99 Indians of North America
- E99 Indian tribes and cultures
- F1218.5 - F1221 Antiquities. Indians