Best Bet Databases for Theater
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new windowDigital Theater+ contains streaming video recordings of live productions from a number of performing arts companies primarily in the U.K., including the Royal Shakespeare Company and Glyndebourne, as well as interviews with practitioners and critical essays.
- Drama Online: Collections This link opens in a new windowContains full-text plays and recorded productions from ancient Greece to the present, as well as scholarly annotations and special tools for study and performance.
- International Bibliography of Theater and Dance with Full Text (IBTD) This link opens in a new windowContains bibliographic materials on theater and dance, including articles, essays and book chapters. Resources are mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, and more.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes journals, series, essay collections, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials. Produced by the Modern Language Association.
Common Research Questions for Theater
Q: Can I get access to a film or video for my research/teaching?
A: If you cannot readily find the title in the library catalog, refer users to the Theater subject librarian. I will help them research its availability and, if needed, purchase it.
Q: I am having issues playing a video in class.
A: Refer the user to Classroom Technologies, at 727-6853.
Q: I am having an issue playing a library streaming video.
A: Direct the user to the library's Report a Problem form: https://emory.libwizard.com/f/blacklight
Please refer other Theater reference questions directly to James Steffen, the subject librarian.
