Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
- Brill's New Pauly Online This link opens in a new windowContains articles on all aspects of the ancient world. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and photographs.
- Blackwell Companions to Philosophy
Overview essays written by experts on each of the key areas, figures and movements in philosophy. - Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy"This is the most comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers available in English. Previously acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible dictionary of philosophy in any language, it has been widely translated and has served both professional philosophers and students of philosophy worldwide." - The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
- Feminist Philosophy - A to ZHaving only emerged in the past few decades, Feminist Philosophy is rapidly developing its own thrust in areas of particular importance to feminism-and women more generally-while also reevaluating and reshaping most other fields of philosophy, from ethics to logic and Marxism to environmentalism.
- Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek PhilosophyThis is the second edition of Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy. It covers the history of Greek philosophy through a chronology, an introductory essay, a glossary, and an extensive bibliography.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
"The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy." - Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy
This is a comprehensive book on philosophical methodology. A team of leading philosophers present original essays on various aspects of how philosophy should be and is done. They explore broad traditions and approaches, topics in philosophical methodology, and the interconnections between philosophy and neighbouring fields. - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP)
A dynamic reference work covering all areas in the field of philosophy, evolving and adapting in response to new research. Major categories include Aesthetics, African and African-American Philosophy, Ancient Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Philosophy, Philosophy of Biology, Chinese Philosophy, Cognitive Science, Epistemology, Ethics, Feminism, Japanese Philosophy, Judaic Philosophy, Language Philosophy, Latin American and Iberian Philosophy, Law, Logic, Mathematics, Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Mind, Physics, Religion, Renaissance and 16th Century Philosophy, Science, Social and Political Philosophy, 17th Century Philosophy, 18th Century Philosophy, 19th Century Philosophy, 20th Century Philosophy, and Continental Philosophy.
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by ISBN: 9780199264797Oxford University Press presents a major new edition of the definitive philosophical reference work for readers at all levels. For ten years the original volume has served as a stimulating introduction for general readers and as an indispensable guide for students; its breadth and depth ofcoverage have ensured that it is also read with pleasure and interest by those working at a higher level in philosophy and related disciplines. A distinguished international assembly of 249 philosophers contributed almost 2,000 entries, and many of these have now been considerably revised andupdated; to these are added over 300 brand-new pieces on a fascinating range of current topics. This new edition offers enlightening and enjoyable discussions of all aspects of philosophy, and of the lives and work of the great philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
Other Relevant Companions
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowCambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Browse by subjects to check philosophy-related content.
- Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists"Reflecting emerging research and ongoing reassessments of social theory, The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists offers significant updates and revisions to the original Blackwell Companion published a decade ago.
- Cambridge Companion to ExistentialismIn this volume of original essays, the first to be devoted exclusively to existentialism in over forty years, a team of distinguished commentators discuss the ideas of Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, Heidegger, Sartre, Merleau-Ponty and Beauvoir and show how their focus on existence provides a compelling perspective on contemporary issues in moral psychology and philosophy of mind, language and history. "-- Provided by publisher.
- A Companion to FoucaultA Companion to Foucault comprises a collection of essays from established and emerging scholars that represent the most extensive treatment of French philosopher Michel Foucault's works currently available.
- A Companion to HeideggerThe Blackwell Companion to Heidegger is a complete guide to the work and thought of Martin Heidegger, one of the most influential philosophers of the twentieth century.
- A Companion to Philosophy in the Middle AgesThis comprehensive reference volume features essays by some of the most distinguished scholars in the field.
- Oxford Companion to the MindFirst published in 1987, to huge acclaim, The Oxford Companion to the Mind immediately took its place as the indispensable guide to the mysteries — and idiosyncracies — of the human mind. In no other book can the reader find discussions of concepts such as language, memory, and intelligence, side by side with witty definitions of common human experiences such as the ‘cocktail-party’ and ‘halo’ effects, and the least effort principle.
Additional Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of AestheticsFeaturing 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts—from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
- Encyclopedia of BioethicsCovering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, this title helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and PhilosophyExamines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
- Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy: Philosophy between 500 and 1500This volume focuses on different areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance from 500 to 1500 CE
- Encyclopedia of Modern Political Thought (set)This groundbreaking new work explores modern and contemporary political thought since 1750, looking at the thinkers, concepts, debates, issues, and national traditions that have shaped political thought from the Enlightenment to post-modernism and post-structuralism.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social SciencesThis is a multi and interdisciplinary encyclopedia that focuses on the relationship between political science and social sciences.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought"From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan-Africanism and Negritude, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diaspora in the Americas and in Europe." - Amazon.com
- Philosophy of LawFrom articles centering on the detailed and doctrinal exposition of the law to those which reside almost wholly within the realm of philosophical ethics, this volume affords comprehensive treatment to both sides of the philosophico-legal equation.