Find Articles at the Emory Libraries

Emory Libraries subscribe to thousands of scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. For the most part, the contents of these publications are not freely available -- but can be accessed through library databases.

What is a scholarly journal? One in which the articles:

• are written by experts/scholars in the field for scholars/researchers in the field
• are reviewed by a group of outside scholars before publication (i.e. peer-reviewed)
• include notes and/or a bibliography

To find articles using Library Search, use the Articles+ link. 

The contents of journals are not searchable from the "Catalog" Library Search. If you do a search in Library Search on "women and Shakespeare," you will find books but NOT journal articles on this subject.

How can Library Search help you here? It can provide:

• the titles (and call numbers if available in print) of all the journals held by Emory Libraries,
• links to the journal, magazine or newspaper if we have it available electronically.

• Use the Articles+ search

• Search one of the library's 900+ databases
  • Databases like JSTOR, Proquest Databases and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. 
  • See our Databases page for a list of databases which can be sorted by subject.

• Search Google Scholar for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Make sure you add a "Find It @ Emory" connection, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database listed above, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.