European Newspapers

This collection helps researchers chart the development of the newspaper as we now know it, beginning with irregularly published transcriptions of Parliamentary debates and proclamations to coffee house newsbooks, finally arriving at newspaper in its current form.

From Napoleon’s defeat at Waterloo to the Russian Revolution to Nelson Mandela’s release from prison, these British historical newspapers bring history to life for researchers. Users can study the progression of issues over time by browsing issues of The Guardian and its sister paper, The Observer, which offer coverage of 1821-2003 and 1791-2003, respectively, including news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.

The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events (including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts, and science) with coverage in the first issue ranging from the Great Fire of Hamburg to Queen Victoria's fancy dress ball at Buckingham Palace. Entirely full-text searchable with new, high-quality digital imaging from flat unbound print sets.

In the nineteenth century, The Sunday Times had similar obsessions to much of the Victorian press, with extensive coverage of court cases, executions and grisly crimes to titillate its readers. However, it also developed a reputation for its considerable arts coverage, especially the London theatre and music scene. In the twentieth century, the newspaper returned to its founding ethos of holding the powerful to account. In 1963, it formed the Insight Team, which became world famous for cutting-edge investigative journalism. The Insight Team broke many of the key stories of the twentieth century, including a decade-long campaign for the victims of thalidomide, the exposure of Kim Philby as a Soviet double agent (1st October 1967), and the revelations about the Israeli nuclear weapons programme (5th October 1986).

Please Note: This archive does not include the Sunday Times, a newspaper independent of the Times.

Among over 300,000 reviews, letters, poems, and articles, users will find influential criticism, reviews of award-winning novels, philosophical works, and insightful debate from influential writers and critics.