Free Online Sources for Historical Newspapers
-
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica
"The Virtual Library of Historical Newspapers (BVPH), managed by the Subdirectorate General for Library Coordination under the umbrella of the Ministry of Culture and Sport, is a digital newspaper library where the public has access to an extensive, varied and growing collection of historical newspapers and cultural magazines in Spanish languages." -
El País (1976-present)
This website provides access to digitized newspapers from 1976-present. -
Historical Spanish Newspapers from Europeana
Europeana provides access to Spanish newspapers. -
Newspapers and Magazines from the Biblioteca Nacional de España
"The Biblioteca Nacional de España preserves the newspapers and magazines printed in Spain at its Recoletos and Alcalá de Henares buildings. It also houses the valuable collections of foreign, old and modern magazines acquired in accordance with collection development strategies."
Newspaper Guides/Collections
-
Center for Research Libraries' Spanish Newspapers SearchThis catalog provides information about print, microfilm, and digital copies of newspapers. "Borrowing from CRL: Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan."
Current Newspapers
-
El Mundo (2002-present)
This website provides access to digitized newspapers from 2002-present. -
El Pais (1976-present)
This website provides access to digitized newspapers from 1976-present.
-
Spanish Newspapers: European Online Newspapers
This website provides links to the major Spanish newspapers