"The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire."
"Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.Current issues of The Current Digest of the Russian Press include content from such news sources as: Ekspert, Izvestiia, Kommersant, Meduza, Moscow Times, New Times, Nezavisimaia gazeta, Novaia gazeta, RBC Daily, Republic.ru, Rossiiskaia gazeta, Sovetskaia Rossiia, Trud, and Vedomosti."
"Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles."
"Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics."
Please Note: "Publication of Pravda was completely suspended in 1915 and 1916, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these years."
"Universal Database of Russian Central Newspapers (UDB-COM) contains around 40 actively publishing Russian central newspapers and weekly magazines, covering the entire spectrum of domestic news, as well as the currents of Russia’s economic and cultural life. They include official publications (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Rossiiskie vesti), popular and business newspapers (Argumenty i fakty, Moskovskii komsomolets, Komsomolskaia pravda, Kommersant, Vedomosti), trade publications (Gudok, Stroitel’naia gazeta, Ekran i scena, Uchitel’skaia gazeta, Literaturnaia gazeta)..."
"Independent media, with the exception of Novaia Gazeta and Nezavisimaia Gazeta, are presented as online versions with the same original content (The New Times, Republic) allowing users to have access to the entire spectrum of opinions and perspectives."
"The Post-Perestroika Newspapers collection traces the evolution of post-Soviet Russia, with coverage beginning in the mid 1980s and extending well into the twenty-first century. Established soon before or soon after the collapse of the Soviet Union, the newspapers in this collection document the changes taking place in Russia, some with breathtaking speed, all the while embracing innovative journalistic methods and standards that were a far cry from the journalism of the Soviet period. These newspapers, some of which had a relatively short lifespan, nevertheless provide important and critical insight into the events and personalities that defined post-Soviet Russian politics and history. Comprised of over a dozen titles, the collection is a unique treasure trove for students and historians of one of the most fascinating periods of Russian history."
This catalog provides information about print, microfilm, and digital copies of newspapers. "Borrowing from CRL: Scholars and researchers from CRL member institutions have free and unlimited use of the CRL collections through interlibrary loan."