Select Biographical Encyclopedias
Black Women in America by ISBN: 9780195156775Publication Date: 2005-05-19
African American National Biography by ISBN: 9780195160192Publication Date: 2008-02-18
Selected Reference Works
Encyclopedia of American Race Riots by ISBN: 9780313333019Publication Date: 2006-12-01
What are Reference Works?
Reference works:
|
|
To find reference materials for your research topic try a search in library search combining keywords. For example: african americans history bibliography |
Bibliography of African American Studies
Need help finding a topic? The Oxford Bibliography for African American Studies is a great place to browse research subfields in the discipline.
Although it's somewhat dated, if you're interested in historical topics, another great source is the Harvard Guide to African American History.
Reference Databases
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowAccess wide-ranging materials that focus on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture. Comprised of five major encyclopedias and additional reference sources from Oxford University Press.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, essayists, poets, journalists, and more.
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowContains online reference works -- see title list for individual works included.
Select Companions & Handbooks
Cambridge Companions related to African American Studies:
Oxford Handbooks related to African American Studies:
Blackwell Companions related to African American Studies:
- American Legal HistoryIncludes essays on the legal history of "African Americans and Slavery," "African Americans in Freedom, Reconstruction and the Origins of Jim Crow," "African Americans and the Law since the Civil Rights Movement."
Other Useful Titles:
Handbooks & Companions
To find companions, handbooks, or bibliographies related to African American Studies you can use library search; however, individual articles can be hard to find. Also try searching the portals to these resources below.
Oxford Bibliographies, annotated bibliographies that provide a gateway to research in particular subfields of African American Studies.
Cambridge Companions, guides to various Native American literature topics.
Routledge Handbooks, book-length companions to various topics.
Oxford Handbooks, reviews of scholarly literature.
Annual Reviews Online, reviews of scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences.