Research Guides: African American Studies Research Guide: Film

Film in the Library Catalog

The Emory Libraries hold thousands of video titles, including educational documentaries, feature films, and primary source materials such as interviews.

African American Film
List of films at Emory indexed with the subject African American.

Streaming Video

With the Libraries subscription to streaming video services, members of the Emory community can access hundreds of documentary films that celebrate the black experience in the United States and abroad.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of documentary films that examine the black experience in the United States and abroad.
Emory's subscription spans a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON replaces Emory's subscriptions to America History and Video, World History and Video, and Alexander Street Press ethnography collections.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming documentary and feature films by and about African Americans.
Highlights include PBS, the Criterion Collection/Janus Films, independent film distributors such as Kino Lorber, educational documentary suppliers such as California Newsreel and Media Education Foundation, and and a robust collection of ethnographic/anthropological documentaries.
History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains full-length, searchable video interviews featuring prominent African American artists, business leaders, scientists, athletes, and intellectuals.