Consider using the following subheadings to identify useful primary source material: autobiographies, autobiography, campaign speeches, correspondence, diaries, interviews, personal narratives, public opinion, speeches, addresses.
Primary Sources Portals
Don't know where to start? Try one of the following database portals. They allow researchers to search across the web and multiple databases produced by the same publisher.
Enables searching across all available Readex collections, including historic newspapers, books, pamphlets, and government publications from the Americas and Africa.
Includes records of the NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE and federal records on the black freedom struggle, as well as petitions on race and slavery and southern plantation records.
Contains collections of archival materials including "Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984," "James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi," "'We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death:' Freedom Riders in the South, 1961," "African America, Communists, and the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947," "Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League" and many others.
Collections vary widely by subject and include the following: Through the Camera Lens:" The Moving Picture World and the Silent Film Era Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 Federal Response to Radicalism James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant collection Newspapers of the French Revolution, 1848 Indochina, France and the Viet Minh War, 1945-1954: Records of the US State Department, 1945-1949 Czechoslovakia from Liberation to Communist State, 1945-63: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files East German from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
Contains primary source materials related to race relations and African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.