Welcome!
This page is intended to direct you to databases with information relevant to AAS285. Not finding what you need here? Contact Erica Bruchko for help.
Articles+ & Library Search
Find books, film, music, and more in Library Search, Emory's library catalog.
Not sure where to look for scholarly articles? Try using Articles+.
Media Databases
Newspapers
The Woodruff Library subscribes to many newspaper databases. Here are a few to get you started.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowInstructions for access: Please read the instructions below to register or re-register your account.
Register for free access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes app. Access includes all NYTimes articles, videos, interactive features, and a searchable archive back to 1851. - ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowAn extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
- NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
Magazines
Find popular magazines in the databases below! Not finding a magazine that you'd like to use for your final project? Contact Erica (berica@emory.edu) for help locating it.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess backfiles of Beat, Billboard, Boxoffice, Broadcasting & Cable, Melody Maker, Musician, New Musical Express, Spin, Variety, and other entertainment titles.
- News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAccess consumer magazines in the fields of news, policy, and politics. Titles include Newsweek, the UN Chronicle, the UNESCO Courier, and more.
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
- Women's Magazine Archive II This link opens in a new windowSection edition of Women's Magazine Archive. Contains additional backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines.
Social Media & Other Internet Sources
In addition to searching on social media platforms to find topics of interest, here are some additional sites that you can search. For more suggestions check out this page.
- Wayback MachineSearches webpages from the past.
- Social SearcherOne of several social media search engines.
- Listen NotesSearch engine for podcasts.