Deadline Nov 1
The Rome Prize supports innovative and cross-disciplinary work in the arts and humanities.
Each year, the prize is awarded to about thirty artists and scholars who represent the highest standard of excellence and who are in the early or middle stages of their careers.
Deadline: July 1
Provides support for scholars holding a PhD (or equivalent) or
PhD candidates to work on research projects in American art
that advance scholarship by connecting with objects in the museum’s permanent collection.
Deadline Nov 1
Olivia James Traveling Fellowship for travel and study in Greece, Cyprus, the Aegean Islands, Sicily, southern Italy, Asia Minor, and Mesopotamia
Helen M. Woodruff Fellowship to support a Rome Prize Fellowship for the study of archeology
or classical studies every other year
Archaeology of Portugal Fellowship to support projects relating to the archeology of Portugal
John R. Coleman Traveling Fellowship to supporting travel and study in Italy, the western Mediterranean, or North Africa
Harriet and Leon Pomerance Fellowship to support a project relating to Aegean Bronze Age archeology
Deadline: Jan 15
Students who hold U.S. or Israeli citizenship, and who are Ph.D. candidates writing their
dissertations in archaeology or recent PhDs completing a project, such as the revision
of a dissertation for publication, which requires a lengthy residence in Greece.
HSS Chateaubriand is a fellowship program offered by the Cultural Services
of the French Embassy in the US. It targets outstanding Ph.D. students from
American universities who seek to engage in research in France, in any
discipline of the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Deadline: Oct 15
Scholars may propose topics that relate to the visual arts, their history, practice,
theory, or interpretation. Any proposal that contributes to understanding the
nature of artistic activity and the intellectual, social, and cultural worlds with
which it is connected is welcome.
Deadline: Oct 15
This fellowship supports a Clark residency of one semester for a scholar
at any stage of their career involved in a project that is either born-digital or
has a substantial component that exists outside the publishing
model of the monographic book.
Professional Development Fellowships for Graduate Students
CAA will award grants of $10,000 each to outstanding students who will receive their
terminal degrees in the current calendar year. One award will be presented to a
practitioner—an artist, designer, and/or craftsperson—and one award will be
presented to an art, architecture, and/or design historian, curator, or critic.
Applicants for this position should be doctoral candidates who wish to pursue a
curatorial career in an art museum and are within two years of completing their dissertation.
The appointment is for two years. The Curatorial Fellow, whose time will be divided
between completing their degree and gaining museum experience, will work closely
with the Curatorial department on projects, exhibitions, and symposia.
Program provides opportunities to doctoral candidates to engage in full-time dissertation
research abroad in modern foreign languages and area studies. The program is designed to
contribute to the development and improvement of the study of modern foreign languages
and area studies in the United States.
Getty Predoctoral and Postdoctoral Fellowships are intended for emerging scholars to
complete work on projects related to the Getty Research Institute's annual research theme.
Recipients are in residence at the Getty Research Institute or Getty Villa, where they pursue
research projects, complete their dissertations, or expand dissertation for publication.
Fellows make use of the Getty collections, join in a weekly meeting devoted to the annual
theme, and participate in the intellectual life of the Getty.
Carter Manny Award
The Graham Foundation offers two Carter Manny Awards:
one for a student at the research stage of the doctoral dissertation
and one for a student at the writing stage of the doctoral dissertation.
Ten or more dissertation fellowships are awarded each year to graduate support for postdoctoral research students who would complete the writing of a dissertation within the award year. These fellowships of $20,000 each are designed to contribute to the support of the doctoral candidate to enable him or her to complete the thesis in a timely manner and are only appropriate for students approaching the final year of their Ph.D. work.
Deadline: Nov 15
The Ransom Center will award more than 50 fellowships for projects that require substantial on-site use of its collections. The fellowships support research in all areas of the humanities, including literature, photography, film, art, the performing arts, music, and cultural history.
Begun in 2001, this multisite 10-month fellowship offers an opportunity for one graduate student to undertake in-depth professional training at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao; and the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice.
September 15–December 15: Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York
January 15–April 15: Guggenheim Museum Bilbao
May 15–July 15: Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice
DeKarman fellowships are open to students in any discipline, including international students, who are currently enrolled in a university or college located within the United States. Study must be carried out only in the United States and all funds must be expended only within this country. Special consideration will be given to applicants in the Humanities.
LGS Contact: Jay Hughes
Dean’s Teaching Fellowship
Dean’s Teaching Fellowships (DTF) support students whose records demonstrate
excellence in teaching and who will complete their doctoral degrees in the fellowship year.
Teaching Fellowships that incorporate public scholarship or publicly facing scholarship
into the undergraduate curriculum. Successful applicants will teach a course that
exposes undergraduate students to public humanities.
Two fellowships (each for a two-year term) will be awarded annually
to scholars studying Cubism or a related topic. One position is intended
for a predoctoral candidate ($45K/year) who is embarking on his or her dissertation.
The other fellowship is reserved for a qualified postdoctoral scholar ($55K/year) at any
stage of his or her career. All Leonard A. Lauder Fellows are expected to
contribute to the activities and programming of the Leonard A. Lauder Research Center.
The Lemmermann Foundation offers scholarships in the classical studies and
humanities to master's and doctoral students. Topic of research must be related to
Rome and the Roman culture of any period, from the Pre-Roman period to the
present day time. Applicants must provide evidence for their need to study and
carry out research in Rome
Deadline: Jan (early)
The library funds four-week visiting fellowships and two-week travel grants to
support research in the Library’s rich collections of eighteenth-century materials (mainly British).
Application obtained from the Laney Graduate School (Contact Jay Hughes with any questions.)
Graduate school fellowships in any recognized field of study in the humanities,
social sciences or natural sciences (including law, medicine, engineering, architecture
or other formal professional training). Independent research or study projects which
must be carried out entirely in the United States of America.Publications focusing on
Armenian studies, Armenian history and Armenian literature of the nineteenth century or earlier.
ACLS invites applications for Luce/ACLS Dissertation Fellowships in American Art,
which are designated for graduate students at any stage of PhD dissertation research or writing.
Ten fellowships are available for a non-renewable, one-year term beginning between June and
September 2020 for the 2020-21 academic year. The fellowships may be carried out in residence
at the fellow's home institution, abroad, or at another appropriate site for the research.
Birgit Baldwin Fellowship November 15
The Baldwin Fellowship provides a grant of $20,000 to support a graduate student in a
North American university who is researching and writing a significant dissertation for
the Ph.D. on any subject in French medieval history that can be realized only by sustained
research in the archives and libraries of France.
Schallek Fellowship and Awards October 15
The Schallek Fellowship provides a one-year grant of $30,000 to support Ph.D. dissertation
research in any relevant discipline dealing with late-medieval Britain (ca. 1350-1500).
Medieval Academy Dissertation Grants February 15
Medieval Academy dissertation grants support advanced graduate students who are writing
Ph.D. dissertations on medieval topics. The $2,000 grants help defray research expenses.
John Leyerle-CARA Prize for Dissertation Research January 31
Annual prize in the amount of $1,000 to support the doctoral research of a Medieval
Academy member who needs to consult materials available in Toronto collections
Deadline: Oct (late) ACLS invites applications for Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellowships,
which support a year of research and writing to help advanced graduate students in the
humanities and related social sciences in the last year of PhD dissertation writing. $30,000,
plus funds for research costs up to $3,000 and university fees up to $5,000.
Administered by a partnership among the Art History Department, the Michael C. Carlos Museum
and the High Museum of Art, this fellowship brings together students, faculty, curators, and
conservators. Each year, three art history graduate students are awarded fellowships to work directly
with objects selected in consultation with faculty and curatorial advisors, and to consider questions
of authorship, manufacture, presentation, and preservation. This fellowship is primarily intended for
graduate students who have completed at least their first year of studies in the Art History department.
The Mellon International Dissertation Research Fellowship (IDRF) offers nine
to twelve months of support to graduate students in the humanities and humanistic
social sciences who are enrolled in PhD programs in the United States and conducting
dissertation research on non-US topics. Seventy fellowships are awarded annually. Fellowship
amounts vary depending on the research plan, with a per-fellowship average of $22,000.
The Bothmer Fellowship - Greek or Roman Art
The Sylvan C. Coleman and Pamela Coleman Memorial Fund Fellowship- Art-historical projects that will contribute to the field at large.
Chester Dale Fellowships- Fine arts of the Western world
The Douglass Foundation Fellowship in American Art - Research in the American Wing on an aspect of the Museum's collection
Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships - Research projects related to the Museum's collection
J. Clawson Mills Scholarships - Any branch of the fine arts relating to The Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection
Theodore Rousseau Fellowships- Training of students whose goal is to enter museums as curators of painting
The Slifka Foundation Interdisciplinary Fellowship
Northern Renaissance paintings (Netherlandish paintings)
The Hanns Swarzenski and Brigitte Horney Swarzenski Fellowship- Museum career in the field of medieval art
Polaire Weissman Fund Fellowship - Academic or museum career in the history or conservation of dress
Jane and Morgan Whitney Fellowships - Decorative Arts
Kress Language School Fellowship
Five fellowships are offered in 2019 for graduate students in European art history
or art conservation to attend the Middlebury Language Schools in French, German,
Italian, Portuguese, Russian, or Spanish.
NOTE: The Emory Art History Department is now a consortium member of
The Newberry Library’s Center for Renaissance Studies
Long-term 4- 9 months. Intended to support significant works of scholarship that draw
on the strengths of the Newberry’s collection
Short-term 1-2 months. Intended to assist researchers who need to examine specific items in the Newberry’s collection in order to advance a significant scholarly project
Weiss-Brown Publication Subvention - Offset the publication costs of scholarly books on European civilization before 1700
Emory contact: David Lynn (firstname.lastname@example.org) or
Leslie Taylor (email@example.com)
Five teacher-scholars will be selected to collaboratively develop a Freshman
Seminar during the fall semester and a Senior Seminar extending the
material during the spring semester.
The Philanthropic Educational Organization (P.E.O.), offers educational grants,
loans and scholarship awards to women all over the world. Scholar awards provide
merit-based awards for women in the U.S. and Canada who are pursuing doctoral
degrees or are engaged in postdoctoral research
The Program in Hellenic Studies supports a limited number of library fellowships
in Hellenic studies. The Maxwell Fund supports research on materials dealing with
Portuguese-speaking cultures. In addition, awards will be made for Studies
of the Age of Revolution and the Enlightenment in the Atlantic World. $4,000 + transportation.
The Fellowship Program is designed to help recent recipients of a master’s or doctoral degree in the arts, arts administration or museum studies prepare for a career in museum management and administration, museum education and curatorial careers.
Curatorial Research Fellow
Note: for the humanities and social sciences, SIRE is considered a completion fellowship
Award for up to 2 graduate student completion fellowships in 2019-2020 to
advanced graduate students in the humanities and social sciences. Fellows will commit
about 15 hours per week in the Undergraduate Research Partner Program, an Emory College
program promoting undergraduate research for students in all disciplines – including
those who are new researchers
Deadline: July 15
Beginning in fall 2019, this two-year position, with a possible third-year renewal,
will provide an invaluable professional development opportunity to a scholar interested
in a curatorial career in an art museum
Charles E. Peterson Fellowship of the Buildings of the January 2
US and the Athanaeum of Philadelphia
Fellowship that will support the participation of a graduate student in the research
and writing for a volume in the Buildings of the United States (BUS) series and/or
SAH Archipedia, the Society’s online architectural resource
Edilia and François-Auguste de Montêquin Research Fellowship August 1
This award provides support for travel related to research on Spanish,
Portuguese, or Ibero-American architecture.
Habs-Sah Sally Kress Tompkins Fellowship December 31
The Fellow will prepare a written history that focuses on a significant U.S. building
or site for the permanent HABS (Historic American Building Survey) collection at the Library of Congress
Fifteen I Tatti Fellowships, each for twelve months, are available annually for
post-doctoral research in any aspect of the Italian Renaissance broadly understood
historically to include the period from the 14th to the 17th century, and geographically
to include transnational dialogues between Italy and other cultures
(e.g. Latin American, Mediterranean, African, Asian etc.).
The Carol Bates Fellowship
For students enrolled in or recent graduates of Museum Studies, Museum Education,
Education, Fine Arts, Art History or Liberal Arts programs. Fellows spend ten months
working in the Education department on a project that integrates curriculum and
program design, evaluation practice, and interpretation.
The Mellon and Weiler-Mellon Post-Doctoral Curatorial Fellowships
The Andrew W. Mellon and Wieler-Mellon Post-Doctoral Curatorial Fellowships
are designed for outstanding scholars who have recently finished his or her PhD
and wish to pursue a curatorial career in the art museum field. These two-year
fellowships support scholarly research related to the collections of the Walters and
provide curatorial training and experience.
Residential fellowships provide scholars at all levels with uninterrupted time to research,
write, and think about their projects amidst the relaxed but rigorous atmosphere
provided by the Winterthur estate. Post-doctoral 4 months; Dissertation 4 – 9 months;
short term 1 – 3 months
Since its inception in 1995, our fellowship program has supported projects from
a wide range of academic fields to promote scholarly research on The Wolfsonian's collection.
Fellowships are awarded for full-time research at the museum, generally for periods of 3–4 weeks.