African Art Resource Pathfinder created by the Edward P. Taylor Research Library
Country: People [Sub-group]
Cameroon: Bamileke, Bangwa, Bamum, Bemanda, Wum, Bafoussam
Gabon: Kota [Mahongwe]
Ivory Coast: Senufo, Yaure, We [Guerre], Baule
Mali: Djenne (also spelt Jenne), Lere, Bankoni, Dogon, Bozo, Bambara
Nigeria: Yoruba [Owo], Oron, Ekoi, Keaka,
Sierra Leone: Kissi
Zaire: Bembe, Punu, Songye, Luba, Wongo, Lwalwa, Hemba, Yambula, Chowke
General subject headings
Art, African Art,
African – Periodicals Art,
African – Exhibitions Art,
African – Bibliography Art,
African – 20th century – Bibliography Art,
Primitive – Africa
For exhibitions from a specific century, search in the following format:
Art, African – 20th century – Exhibitions
And for a specific decade in that century:
Art, African – 20th century (1990s) – Exhibitions
To search by specific media look under subject headings such as:
Figure Sculpture, African
Wood-carving – Africa
Terra-cotta sculpture – Africa
Architecture – Africa
Art by region/peoples
Art – Africa, West Art – Africa, Sub-Saharan
For specific peoples, search in the following format:
Kosova (African Peoples)
Art, African – Collectors and Collecting Art, African -- Expertising Art, African – Economic aspects
Art and Society – Africa Europeans in African Art
Mythology, African Africans – Folklore Icons – Africa
Anthropology Plus is a database for searching anthropological literature, Anthropology Plus combines two indexes: Anthropological LiteratureAnthropological Index from the UK's Royal Anthropological Institute.
Art Source (formerly Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective) Covers 404 art publications from around the world.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes journals published in the fields of architecture, architectural history and design, archaeology, interior design, furniture and decoration, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and city planning.
The ARTstor database includes digital images representing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Provides searchable full-text access to back files of key scholarly journals in many fields-
Archaeology, Architecture & Architectural History. Art & Art History and Classical Studies
Bibliography of the History of Art (NOW IBA-International Bibliography of Art)
Covering European art from post-classical times to the present and American art from post-Columbian times to the present
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Provides networked access to the full text of more than 150 scholarly journals, including important historical journals. Coverage is from the mid-nineties to the present.
Oxford Art Online (incl. Grove Art)
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online (an encyclopedia of over 40,000 articles covering art, artists, and all forms of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography). Africa entry includes: I. Introduction. II. Art and aesthetics. III. Contexts of production and use. IV. Imagery and iconography. V. Materials and techniques. VI. Art forms. VII. Regions. VIII. Diaspora. IX. Contemporary developments. X. Forgery. XI. Historiography. XII. Museums. XIII. Exhibitions. XIV. Collectors and dealers. XV. Art libraries and photographic collections.