Nursing Informationist
https://orcid.org/0000-0002-3822-526XWHSC Library Classes
Ask a Librarian!
Email us at
http://health.library.emory.edu/ask-librarian
Check your spam folder if you don't receive a reply.
Get an ORCID iD
Are you an author who shares a name with someone else? Create a ORCID iD, an online persistent identifiers for people.
Go to https://orcid.org/register to get started or check out our ORCID research guide.
Specialities
- AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new windowAn emergency medical resource that provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers for complaints encountered in the emergency department. Frequently updated and includes textbooks, images, and videos.
- Emergency Nursing byeBook, 2016
- Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2022, 6th edition
- Geriatric Trauma and Critical Care byeBook, 2017
- High-Acuity Nursing byWHSC Library Reserves WY 154 K53 2018, 7th ed.
- Priorities in Critical Care Nursing byWHSC Library, WY 154 P76 2020
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care by eBook via ClinicalKey, 2019, 7th ed.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new windowAccessAnesthesiology houses core eBooks, multimedia, guidelines and more for healthcare professionals and students in anesthesiology.
- Anesthesia Secrets byeBook, 2021
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia by eBook, 2024, 7th ed.
Clinical Pharmacology for Anesthesiology by eBook, 2015
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation by eBook, 2019, 4th ed.- Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management byeBook, 2023, 5th ed.
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway by eBook, 2024, 4th ed.- Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology byeBook, 2022, 7th ed.
Nurse Anesthesia Pocket Guide by eBook, 2017- Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia byeBook, 2019, 2nd ed.
- A Practical Approach to Pediatric Anesthesia byeBook, 2015
COVID's Impact on Health and Healthcare Workers by Woodruff Library, RA644.C67 G65 2021
COVID-19 critical and intensive care medicine essentials by ISBN: 3030949923
Covid-19 Infection and Pregnancy by eBook, 2021
Mental Health Effects of COVID-19 by eBook, 2021
Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic by eBook, 2021
- AccessDermatologyDxRx This link opens in a new window
Atlas of Pigmentary Skin Disorders by eBook, 2023
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Ninth Edition by eBook, 2023 (9th ed.)
Skin Diseases in Females by eBook, 2022
- Encyclopedia of Geropsychology byeBook via SpringerLink, 2019
- Geriatric Medicine: A Problem-Based Approach byeBook, 2017
- Gerontological Nursing byWHSC Library, WY 152 E42 2018
- Healthy Aging: A Complete Guide to Clinical Management byeBook via SpringerLink, 2019
- Nursing Older People: Realities of practice byeBook, 2019
- Pain Management in Older Adults byeBook, 2018
- Big Data Analytics in HIV/AIDS Research byWHSC Library, WC 503.41 B54 2018
Fundamentals of HIV Medicine by WHSC Library, WC 503 A54 2017- HIV/AIDS in Rural Communities: Research, Education, and Advocacy byeBook via SpringerLink, 2018
HIV and Aging by WHSC Library, WC 503.5 H579 2017- Johns Hopkins HIV Guide byeBook, via uCentral, 2019
Taking Turns: Stories from HIV/AIDS Care Unit 371 by eBook and in print at WHSC Library, WY 17 C97 2017
- Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2020
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health by eBook, 2019
The Handbook of LGBTQIA-Inclusive Hospice and Palliative Care by Publication Date: 2023-10-10Online and in print at WHSC Library, WB 310 A32 2017- LGBTQ Cultures: What health care professionals need to know about sexual and gender diversity byeBook and in print at WHSC Library WA 300.1 L43 2018
- Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine: Gender in the Genomic Era byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2017
The Remedy: Queer and Trans Voices on Health Care by eBook and in print at WHSC Library WA 300 R44 2016 and Robert W. Woodruff Library RA564.9.H65 R44 2016
- Standards of Care for the Health of Transsexual, Transgender, and Gender Nonconforming People (pdf)From the World Professional Association for Transgender Health. Available in 18 different languages.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
AWHONN's High Risk and Critical Care Obstetrics by eBook, 2019, 4th ed.- Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Principles and Practice byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2018
Fast Facts for the L&D Nurse: Labor and Delivery Orientation in a Nutshell by eBook, 2016, 2nd ed.- Starting Life As a Midwife: An International Review of Transition from Student to Practitioner byeBook via SpringerLink, 2019
- Varney's Midwifery byeBook, 2018, 6th ed.
- Williams Obstetrics byeBook via AccessMedicine, 2018, 25th ed.
Womb politics : A short history of the future of human reproduction by eBook, 2023 and in print at Oxford Library 176 S6118W
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new windowResources for practicing surgeons, residents and medical students with answers to surgical inquiries. Materials include videos, self-assessment, and surgical textbooks.
- Brunner and Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing byWHSC Library WY 150 B8972 2018
- Medical-Surgical Nursing: Assessment and management of clinical problems byWHSC Library Reserves, WY 100 M489 2017
Medical-Surgical Nursing at a Glance by eBook, 2016
The Mont Reid Surgical Handbook by eBook via ClinicalKey, 2018, 7th ed.
Comprehensive Men's Mental Health by eBook, 2021- Effects of Lifestyle on Men's Health byeBook, and in print at Woodruff Library RA777.8 .Y345 2019
- Handbook of Men's Health Disparities byeBook, and in print at Woodruff Library RA777.8 .M4645 2019
Men's Health: An Introduction by eBook, 2020
- Psychiatry Online with DSM This link opens in a new windowContains a collection of psychiatry books, journals, and self-assessment tools available from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc. Includes online access to the latest version of DSM.
- Encyclopedia of Geropsychology byeBook via SpringerLink, 2019
- Johns Hopkins Psychiatry Guide byeBook via uCentral, 2019
- Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry byeBook via Stat!Ref, 2021, 12th edition
- Nursing Skills for Children and Young People's Mental Health byeBook via SpringerLink, 2019
- Psychiatric Nursing: Contemporary practice byWHSC Library Reserves, WY 160 P9726 2018
The Routledge International Handbook of Military Psychology and Mental Health by eBook, 2019 and in print at Woodruff U22.3 .R68 2020
Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health by eBook, 2022 (unlimited access)
- Clinical Skills Manual for Maternity and Pediatric Nursing byWHSC Library, WY 157.3 B57 2017
- Fanaroff and Martin's Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine byeBook, via ClinicalKey
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies: A Compendium of Evidence-based Research for Pediatric Practice by Publication Date: 2022-04-11eBook, 2022
Pediatric Environmental Health by eBook, 2018- Red Book: 2021-2024 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases byeBook via Stat!Ref, 2021
- Wong's Essentials of Pediatric Nursing byWHSC Library WY 159 W8728 2017
Lutz's Nutrition and Diet Therapy by eBook via Stat!Ref, 2023, 8th ed.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System byeBook via Stat!Ref, 2024, version 9
- Cancer Nursing: Principles and practice byeBook, 2019
- Mosby's Oncology Nursing Advisor: A comprehensive guide to clinical practice byWHSC Library WY 156 M65 2017
Oncology Nursing Review by eBook, 2018. To access - use the institution pull-down menu, then choose "Not listed" and enter your Emory email.
- Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and ExperienceFrom JAMAEvidence.
McPhee S.J., & Winker M.A., & Rabow M.W., & Pantilat S.Z., & Markowitz A.J.(Eds.), (2011). Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience. McGraw-Hill.
- Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions byWHSC Library, WY 152.3 I67 2017
- The Handbook of LGBTQIA-Inclusive Hospice and Palliative Care by Publication Date: 2023-10-10Online and in print at WHSC Library, WB 310 A32 2017
- Nursing Care at the End of Life: What Every Clinician Should KnowOpen Education Textbook by Susan E. Lowey, The College at Brockport, SUNY
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by eBook, 2019, 5th ed.
What's in the Syringe? Principles of early integrated palliative care by Woodruff Library R726.8 .J33 2021
Cardiopulmonary Bypass (Ghosh) by eBook, 2022, 3rd ed.
The ECMO Book by eBook, 2023
Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation for Adults by ISBN: 9783031052989Publication Date: 2022-08-11TBD
Handbook of Inpatient Cardiology by eBook, 2020
Heart: A History by WHSC Library QP111.4 .J38 2018
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia by eBook, 2025, 7th ed.
Journey into the Heart: A tale of pioneering doctors and their race to transform cardiovascular medicine by Woodruff Library RC666.5 .M66 2007
King of Hearts: The true story of the maverick who pioneered open heart surgery by WHSC Library, Tye Collection, WG 169 M648k 2000
Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by eBook, 2022, 6th ed.
Patient Blood Management in Cardiac Surgery by eBook, 2019
Every Second Counts: The Race to Transplant the First Human HeartISBN: 9781416510956TBD
Family Practice Guidelines, Fifth Edition by eBook, 2020- Pediatric Primary Care byeBook, 2017
Respiratory care made incredibly easy! by eBook, 2018
Respiratory Endoscopy by eBook, 2016- Textbook of Pulmonary Rehabilitation byeBook, 2019
- Johns Hopkins Manual of Gynecology and Obstetrics byeBook via uCentral, 2019
- Johns Hopkins Menopause Guide byeBook via uCentral, 2019
- Nursing Management of Women's Health: A Guide for Nurse Specialists and Practitioners byeBook via Springer Link, 2019
- Obesity and Gynecology byeBook, 2020
Sex and Gender-Based Women's Health by eBook, 2021- Williams Gynecology byeBook via AccessMedicine, 2020, 4th ed.
- Williams Obstetrics byeBook via AccessMedicine, 2022, 26th ed.
- Womb politics : A short history of the future of human reproduction by eBook, 2023 and in print at Oxford Library 176 S6118W
Related Topics
From the Ground Up: How frontline staff can save America's healthcare by eBook, 2020
Select "Institution Not Listed" and enter your Emory email for access.
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Analyzing Qualitative Data with MAXQDA byeBook, 2019
- Big Data Analytics in HIV/AIDS Research byWHSC Library, WC 503.41 B54 2018
Big Data-Enabled Nursing: Education, research and practice by eBook via SpringerLink, 2017- Data Science for Healthcare byeBook via SpringerLink, 2019
Fundamentals of Clinical Data Science by eBook, 2019- Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals byWHSC Library, WY 26.5 H44 2019
- Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2019, 8th ed.
- Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Clinical Principles and Applications byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2018, 7th ed.
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by eBook, audiobook, video and in print at Woodruff Library, RC265.6 .L24 S55 2011- Perinatal Genetics byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2019
- Race Unmasked: Biology and race in the twentieth century byeBook, 2014, and in print at Woodruff Library, HQ751 .Y83 2014
- National Quality ForumNQF measures and standards serve as a critically important foundation for initiatives to enhance healthcare value, make patient care safer, and achieve better outcomes.
- Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient CareAn Open Access text by Glynda Reese Doyle and Jodie Anita McCutcheon, via Nurses International.
Milstead's Health Policy and Politics: A nurse's guide by eBook, 2022, 7th ed.
The Nation of Nurses: A manual for revolutionizing healthcare by WHSC Library WY16 J64 2022
- Community and Public Health Nursing: Evidence for practice byWHSC Library, WY 108 D46 2020
- Community and Public Health Nursing: Promoting the public's health byWHSC Library, WY 108 R294 2022
- Pediatric Environmental Health byeBook, 2019, 4th ed.
- Population Health Management (PHM): Registered Nurses' Essential Role in Value-Based CareAn Open Access text/course by Maja Djukic via Nurses International.
- Population-Based Public Health Clinical Manual: The Henry Street model for nurses byeBook, 2019, 3rd ed.
- Reimagining Global Health: An Introduction byeBook, 2013
Rural Nursing: Concepts, theory, and practice by eBook, 2022, 6th ed.
- Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
- Sage Research Methods -- Cases This link opens in a new window
- Sage Research Methods Datasets This link opens in a new window
- Sage Publications SRM Databases of Social Research Methodology This link opens in a new window
Burns and Grove's the Practice of Nursing Research by WHSC Library, WY 20.5 G779 2017- Essential Concepts in Clinical Research byeBook via ClinicalKey, 2019, 2nd ed.
- The Foundations of Social Research byWoodruff Stacks HM511 .C76 1998
- Introduction to Nursing Research: Incorporating evidence-based practice byeBook, 2020, 5th ed.
- Nursing Research: Generating and assessing evidence for nursing practice byWHSC Library Course Reserves, WY 20.5 P596N 2017
- Reading, Understanding, and Applying Nursing Research byeBook, 2017, 5th ed.
- An introduction to medical statistics byOnline and in print at WHSC Library, WA 950 B55 2015
Biostatistics and Epidemiology: A Primer for Health and Biomedical Professionals by eBook, 2024, 5th ed.
- JAMA Guide to Statistics and MethodsFrom JAMAEvidence.
Livingston E.H., & Lewis R.J.(Eds.), (2019). JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods.
Statistics for Nursing: A Practical Approach by eBook, 2018
- Department of Veterans Affairs (VA): A Primer on Telehealth byOnline PDF, 2019
- Fundamentals of Telemedicine and Telehealth byeBook and in print at Woodruff Library, R119.9 .F86 2020
- Rural Nursing: Concepts, theory, and practice by eBook, 2022, 6th ed.
Understanding Telehealth by eBook via AccessMedicine, 2018
Professional Issues
- Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education byWHSC Library WY 18 C573 2014
Clinical Teaching Strategies in Nursing by eBook, 2022
Creative Teaching Strategies for the Nurse Educator by ISBN: 9781719650557Publication Date: 2024-11-11TBD- Critical democratic education and LGBTQ-inclusive curriculum : Opportunities and constraints byWoodruff Library LC192.6 .C258 2016
Feeling Medicine: How the Pelvic Exam Shapes Medical Training by eBook, 2020 and in print at Woodruff Library RG143.A1 U84 2020- Health Professional as Educator byeBook, 2020
- Innovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions byeBook, 7th edition, 2016
Practice What You Teach: Social justice education in the classroom and the streets by Robert W. Woodruff Library LC192.2 .P53 2012- Scientific Inquiry in Nursing Education byWHSC Library WY 18 S35 2017
Sex Matters: How male-centric medicine endangers women's health and what we can do about it by Woodruff Library RA564.85 .M435 2020- Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators byeBook, 2017
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care by eBook, 2016, 3rd ed.
Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing: Enhancing Professional Quality of Life by eBook, 2024, 3rd ed.- Nurse Burnout: Combating stress in nursing byeBook, 2016
- Self-care and you: Caring for the caregiver byeBook, 2014
Self Care for Nurses: Small doses for wellness by Woodruff Library RT86 .M39 2023
- Anatomy of a Super Nurse: The ultimate guide to becoming nursey byWHSC Library, WY 16 A1 K45 2017
- Human Caring Science: A theory of nursing byWHSC Library, WY 86 W339 2012
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by eBook, 2023- Nursing Theorists and Their Work byWHSC Library, WY 86 N87 2018
- Unitary Caring Science: The philosophy and praxis of nursing byOnline and in print at Woodruff Library, RT84.5 .W38 2018
De-Escalating Violence in Healthcare by eBook, 2020- The Road to Positive Work Culture byeBook, 2019
Toxic Nursing: Managing bullying, bad attitudes, and total turmoil by eBook, 2021, 2nd edition- What to Do When Nurses Hurt Nurses: An action plan for relational aggression and bullying in nursing byeBook and in print at Woodruff Health Sciences Cntr. WY 88 D45 2019
21st Century Nursing Leadership by WHSC Library, WY 105 A16 2018- The nurse manager's survival guide. byeBook, 2019
Patient Communication & Experience
- Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: An Evidence-Based Method byeBook via AccessMedicine, 2019, 4th ed.
- Communication in Nursing byWHSC Library, WY 88 B198 2017
- Communication Rx: Transforming healthcare through relationship-centered communication byOnline and in print at WHSC Library, W 62 C66 2018
- Essentials of Patient Education byWHSC Library, WY 18 E85 2017
The Medication Interest Model: How to talk with patients about their medications by eBook and in print at WHSC Library, W 85 S54 2019
This Is Assisted Dying: A doctor's story of empowering patients at the end of life by WHSC Library WB 65 G73 2022
- Health Information in Multiple LanguagesBrowse health information in multiple languages, arranged by language. From MedlinePlus.
- Health Information Translations"Health Information Translations provides education resources in multiple languages for health care professionals and others to use in their communities. Resources are easy to read and culturally appropriate."
- HRAF World Cultures (eHRAF) This link opens in a new window
- Refugee Health ProfilesFrom CDC. "Information is from the World Health Organization (WHO), the International Organization for Migration (IOM), the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the U.S. Department of State, scientific research, and many other sources."
- Cultural Competencies for Nurses: Impact on health and illness byWHSC Library WY 107 D39 2014
- Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness byWHSC Library WA 30 S6 2017
- Cultural Sensibility in Healthcare byeBook, 2015
Culture, Brain, and Analgesia: Understanding and managing pain in diverse populations by eBook, and in print at WHSC Library, WL 704 C85 2013 and Woodruff Library, RB127 .C85 2013- Health in Humanitarian Emergencies: Principles and practice for public health and healthcare practitioners byeBook and in print at WHSC Library, WA 295 H437 2018
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice by WHSC Library, WY 107 M34 2018- Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, and Populations byeBook via AccessMedicine, 2016
- Migration, Illness and Healthcare byRobert W. Woodruff Library RA408.M5 A48 2016
- Multicultural Health byWHSC Library W 21 R58 2017
Seeing Patients: Unconscious Bias in Health Care by eBook, 2011 and in print WHSC Library, W 84 AA1 W582S 2011
“Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.”
~ Mark Twain
__________________________________________
Be a cyberskeptic.
Remember, anyone can post anything on the internet.
Determine the purpose of the page
- Advocacy? (American Heart Association)
- Business/marketing? (Abbott Pharmaceuticals)
- Informational? (CDC)
- News? (CNN)
- Entertainment? (McSweeney's)
Assess the Accuracy
-
Should present factual information based on medical research, not opinion.
Consider the source
- Are they trying to sell you something?
- Who sponsors the website? Look for an "About" page to assess the author's credentials. (For example, look at this website. This site is sponsored by a law firm that specializes in litigation related to a disease.)
Check the Currency
- Is the information current? When was the last update?
Review the Coverage
- Are all aspects of the subject covered? How detailed is the information?
Protect your privacy
- Health information should be confidential.
Look for quality design
- All web sites are not created equal. Watch out for typos and lots of exclamation points.
Always consult with your health professional
- A website should have a disclaimer stating that the content is information, not medical advice.
- Patient/provider partnerships lead to the best medical decisions.
Adapted from the MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing
Find Books & eBooks
Search the Library Catalog for books, eBooks, videos and journals. Search the A-Z list for articles within databases.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window
- AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- AccessPhysiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
- APA Books E-collection This link opens in a new window
- Book Citation Index This link opens in a new windowAccess scholarly books in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
- Books@OVID This link opens in a new window
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- FA Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
- LWW Health Library (Premium Basic Sciences Collection) This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- Springer Link This link opens in a new window
- Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
- Emory Theses and Dissertations (ETDs) This link opens in a new window
- Foreign Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (A&I) This link opens in a new window
Where to search for OER
- Mason OER MetafinderThe Mason OER Metafinder (MOM). Real-time federated search for OER content across 21 resources, including Open Textbook Library, BC Campus, DOAB, Merlot, Open Stax, HathiTrust, and OER Commons.
OER Textbooks
- Human Nutrition: 2020 Edition
By the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Food Science and Human Nutrition Program. - Literature Reviews for Education and Nursing Graduate Students
An open access textbook designed for students in graduate-level nursing and education programs. By Linda Frederiksen and Sue F. Phelps. - Nursing Skills
From Chippewa Valley Technical College. - Ultrasound in Resource-Limited Settings: A Case Based, Open Access Text
By University of California at Davis. "An online, open source book focusing on ultrasound in tropical medicine and resource-limited environments. Our goal is to create an up-to-date and useful resource for those taking care of vulnerable patients around the globe."
Create OER
Streaming Films & Video
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries.
- Docuseek2 Complete Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming video documentaries database. Includes most content from Icarus Films, Women Make Movies, and Bullfrog Films.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy offers thousands of streaming videos on all subjects from a wide range of suppliers.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides streaming access to feature films for research and teaching at Emory. These films may only be viewed through the Swank Digital Campus platform. The films do not have public performance rights. Please contact reserves@emory.edu to license a title on the platform.