Research Guides: Energy and Environmental Law Research Guide: Databases

Legal Databases

MacMillan Law Library has a wide collection of subscription-based law-related electronic resources and databases. Most of the resources are available to members of the Emory community both on and off campus. The electronic resources and databases below are focused on climate change and climate change-related issues:

Environment & Energy News Daily (E&E) (law school community only). E&E News is a news organization that focuses on energy and the environment. E-mail alerts provide updates on various topics, with full articles available online. E&E News is comprised of:
- E&E Daily: Environmental and energy issues in Congress.
- EnergyWire: Coverage of electric utilities, oil, and gas.
- ClimateWire: Coverage on business and politics of climate change.
- GreenWire: The one-stop source for environmental and energy news.
- E&E News PM: Information about tomorrow's likely headlines.
Westlaw Energy & Environmental Law
Lexis+ Environmental Law
Lexis+ Energy & Utilities Law
Hein Online
- Water Rights & Resources Database (Hein Online)

Non-Legal Databases

Climate Change Law is a complex area of law and often requires interdisciplinary research. Emory University has an extensive database collection, featuring topics on climate change, environment, and energy. You may also limit your database search by topic, including environmental studies.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for books and articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, pre-print repositories and universities, and more. To add a "Find It @ Emory" button, go to Library Links in the Settings menu, search for Emory, and click the "Find It @ Emory" box. NOTE: Unlike a library database, many sources found in Google Scholar require payment before providing full text; check library holdings of journal titles in Library Search or Interlibrary Loan before paying.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Access information related to sustainable building, ranging from energy efficiency, recycled-content, land-use planning, air quality, and more.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Resources related to prominent U.S. policy topics.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
E-books from Oxford University Press and several partner presses. Emory licensed content is indicated by the green unlock sign. Consider clicking "only search content I have access to," and browsing the "What we publish" tab.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
A database that provides access to journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals.
Scopus (SciVerse Scopus) This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
It contains over 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has 46 million records dating back to 1823, 72% of these containing references dating from 1996.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Access geoscience literature from around the world, including articles, books, maps, papers, and more.

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Have a question for the Law Library? Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reference Desk:*
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
*Closed July 15 - August 9, 2024

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services