Skip to Main Content

Energy and Environmental Law Research Guide

Searching the Emory Library Catalog

The Emory Catalog should be used to search for additional sources available to you and may be accessed from the MacMillan Law Library Website. Call numbers can be used to find books in the catalog and on the shelves. Subject terms searches can be used to find every resource tagged with that particular term, which is an excellent way to identify relevant works. Some helpful examples of both are provided below. 

Call Numbers

  • Environmental Law - KFK3581 - 3598
  • Environmental Sciences - GE 1 -350

Subject Terms

Major Treatises & Looseleaf Sets

Newsletters and News Sources

News sources focused on issues related to Climate Change law:

News sources on international law may include developments on international climate and environmental law.

To set up Emory Law access to Bloomberg Law, E&E, the New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal, visit the Digital Access guide. 

Blogs

Law blogs:

You might browse blogs on environmental law for current issues, and environmental law blogs may also include international environmental news.

General Topic Blogs

Blogs may be an excellent resource for keeping up with changes in the news or law, providing commentary on fast-changing topics such as climate change law. Below are examples of climate change blogs:

Law Journal Databases & Indexes

Emory Law provides online access to law journal databases, including Hein Online, Westlaw, and Lexis+. Journals may be sorted by topic, including energy and environmental law. Below are non-exhaustive lists of legal journals relating to climate change.

Law Review Journals

Other Journals

Research Guides

Browsing a few research guides is often a great way to begin creating a plan for your work. Research guides can quickly point you to reliable sources in an area of law or policy that isn’t yet completely familiar. 

Emory Law Library Research Guides:

Emory University Library Research Guides:

Other research guides:

Study Aids

Study Aids on reserve:

Study aids can be a quick way to get background in a subject area, find information on treaties and international organizations, and learn terminology for searching in databases.

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

Have a question for the Law Library?  Reach out to us via one of our question forms:

Faculty Research or Staff Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:

          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
          Saturday - Sunday: Closed 

MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 13 - August 16, 2024):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm; Virtual only: 1pm - 3pm
Friday: 10am - 12pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis. 
Questions?  Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services