Handbooks and encyclopedias: to learn the foundational facts and terminology
-
The Oxford Handbook of Holocaust Studies
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780199211869Publication Date: 2011-01-21Few scholarly fields have developed in recent decades as rapidly and vigorously as Holocaust Studies. At the start of the twenty-first century, the persecution and murder perpetrated by the Nazi regime have become the subjects of an enormous literature in multiple academic disciplines and a touchstone of public and intellectual discourse in such diverse fields as politics, ethics and religion. Forward-looking and multi-disciplinary, this handbook draws on the work of an international team of forty-seven outstanding scholars.The handbook is thematically divided into five broad sections. Part One, Enablers, concentrates on the broad and necessary contextual conditions for the Holocaust. Part Two, Protagonists, concentrates on the principal persons and groups involved in the Holocaust and attempts to disaggregate the conventional interpretive categories of perpetrator, victim, and bystander. It examines the agency of the Nazi leaders and killers and of those involved in resisting and surviving the assault. Part Three, Settings, concentrates on the particular places, sites, and physical circumstances where the actions of the Holocaust's protagonists and the forms of persecution were literally grounded. Part Four, Representations, engages complex questions about how the Holocaust can and should be grasped and what meaning or lack of meaning might be attributed to events through historical analysis, interpretation of texts, artistic creation and criticism, and philosophical and religious reflection. Part Five, Aftereffects, explores the Holocaust's impact on politics and ethics, education and religion, national identities and international relations, the prospects for genocide prevention, and the defense of human rights. -
The Holocaust
by
Call Number: D804.3 .Y3413 1990ISBN: 9780195045222Publication Date: 1990-11-15When The Holocaust first appeared in Israel in 1987, it was hailed as the finest, most authoritative history of Hitler's war on the Jews ever published. Representing twenty years of research and reflection, Leni Yahil's book won the Shazar Prize, one of Israel's highest awards for historical work. Now available in English, The Holocaust offers a sweeping look at the Final Solution, covering not only Nazi policies, but also how Jews and foreign governments perceived and responded to the unfolding nightmare. The Holocaust is astonishingly comprehensive. Yahil weaves a gripping chronological narrative that stretches from the Norwegian fjords to the Greek islands, from Amsterdam to Tehran--and even Shanghai. Her writing is balanced, objective, and compelling, as she systematically explores the evolution of the Holocaust in German-occupied Europe, probing its politics, planning, goals, and key figures. Yahil uses her command of the many relevant languages to marshal an impressive array of documentary and statistical evidence, driving her narrative forward with telling details and personal accounts--such as a survivor's description of her perseverance during a death march, or the story of the Struma, a boat that sank with over 700 Jewish refugees when the British refused to receive it in Palestine. Along the way, she destroys persistent myths about the Holocaust: that Hitler had no plan for exterminating the Jews, that the Jews themselves went peacefully to the slaughter. Though Yahil finds that Nazi policies were often inconsistent, particularly during the years before the war, she conclusively demonstrates that Hitler was always working toward a final reckoning with world Jewry, envisioning his war as a war against the Jews. The book also recounts numerous uprisings and acts of resistance in ghettos and concentration camps, as well as the activities of Jewish partisan units. Yahil describes the work of Jews in America, Palestine, and world organizations on behalf of Hitler's victims--often in the face of resistance by the Allied governments and neutral states--and explores the factors that affected the success of rescue efforts. The Holocaust is a monumental work of history, unsurpassed in scope and insightful detail. Objective yet compassionate, Leni Yahil brings together the countless diverse strands of this epic event in a single gripping account. -
Holocaust history, Holocaust memory : Jewish Poland and Polish Jews, during and after the Holocaust
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781003859598Publication Date: 2024This volume is both a study of the history of Polish Jews and Jewish Poland before, during, and immediately after the Holocaust and a collection of personal explorations focusing on the historians who write about these subjects. While the first three parts of the book focus on "text," the broad nature of Polish Jewish history surrounding the Holocaust, the last section focuses on subtext, the personal and professional experiences of scholars who have devoted years to researching and writing about Polish Jewry. The beginning sections present a variety of case studies on wartime and postwar Polish Jews, drawing on new research and local history. The final part is a reflection on family memory, where scholars discuss their connections to Holocaust history and its impact on their current lives and research. Viewed together, the combination sheds light on both history and historians: the challenges of dealing with the history of an unparalleled cataclysm, and the personal questions and dilemmas that its study raises for many of the historians engaged in it. Holocaust History, Holocaust Memory is a unique resource that will appeal to students and scholars studying the Second World War, Jewish and Polish history, and family history. -
Holocaust literature
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781619255289Publication Date: 2016This book provides readers with essays that explore the literature that came out of The Holocaust, from non-fiction accounts like Anne Frank's "The Diary of a Young Girl" and Elie Wiesel's "Night" to fictionalized novels such as "Sophie's Choice" by William Styron. A list of "Works Cited," along with endnotes, is also included. -
The Holocaust Encyclopedia
by
Call Number: D804.25 .H66 2001ISBN: 9780300084320Publication Date: 2001-03-29The Holocaust has been the subject of countless books, works of art, and memorials. Fifty-five years after the fact the world still ponders the enormity of this disaster. The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals. Up-to-date and designed for easy access, the encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources--including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc--to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals. The book also has more than 250 photographs, many of them rare, and 19 maps. The volume includes: * Raul Hilberg on concentration camps and Gypsies * Ruth Bondy, Israel Gutman, and Dina Porat on major ghettoes * Roger Greenspun on the Holocaust in cinema and television * Richard Breitman on American policy * Michael Cohen on British policy * Michael Berenbaum on theological and philosophical responses * Saul Friedländer on Nazi policy * Michael Hagemeister on the Protocols of the Elders of Zion * Michael R. Marrus on historiography * Christopher R. Browning on the Madagascar Plan * Robert S. Wistrich on Holocaust denial * James E. Young on Holocaust literature -
Dictionary of Literary Biography
by
Call Number: PN56 .H55 H68 2004ISBN: 9780787668365Publication Date: 2004-08-01Ilse Aichinger. -- Myriam Anissimov. -- Aharon Appelfeld. -- Giorgio Bassani. -- Jurek Becker. -- Louis Begley. -- Saul Bellow. -- Josef Bor. -- Melvin Jules Bukier. -- Serge Doubrovsky. -- Leslie Epstein. -- Carl Friedman. -- Ladislav Fuks. -- Romain Gary. -- Karen Gershon. -- Michael Govrin. -- David Grossman. -- Henryk Grynberg. -- John Hersey. -- Edgar Hilsenrath. -- Yoram Kaniuk. -- Ilona Karmel. -- Ka-Tzetnik 135633 (Yehiel Dinur). -- Thomas Keneally. -- Imre Kertész. -- Jerzy Kosinski. -- Anatolii Kuznetsov (A. Anatolii). -- Primo Levi. -- Jakov Lind. -- Arnošt Lustig. --Anne Michaels. -- Marga Minco. -- Patrick Modiano. -- Harry Mulisch. -- Cynthia Ozick. -- Georges Perec. -- Henri Raczymow. -- Piotr Rawicz. -- Thane Rosenbaum. -- Adolf Rudnicki. -- Susan Fromberg-Schaeffer. -- André Schwarz-Bart. -- Lore Segal. -- Nava Semel. -- Art Spiegelman. -- George Steiner. -- William Styron. -- D.M. Thomas. -- Edward Lewis Wallant. -- Jiří Weil. -- Elie Wiesel. -- Appendix 1: The Holocaust "historical novel" / Efraim Sicher. -- Appendix 2: Postmodern Holocaust fiction / Nicola King. -- Appendix 3: The "second-generation" Holocaust novel / Efraim Sicher. -
The Holocaust Novel
by
Call Number: onlineISBN: 1135457085Publication Date: 2013-10-31The first comprehensive study of Holocaust literature as a major postwar literary genre, The Holocaust Novel provides an ideal student guide to the powerful and moving works written in response to this historical tragedy. This student-friendly volume answers a dire need for readers to understand a genre in which boundaries and often blurred between history, fiction, autobiography, and memoir. Other essential features for students here include an annotated bibliography, chronology, and further reading list. Major texts discussed include such widely taught works as Night, Maus, The Shawl, Schindler's List, Sophie's Choice, White Noise, and Time's Arrow. -
Reframing Holocaust Testimony
by
Call Number: D804.3 .S557 2015ISBN: 9780253017093Publication Date: 2015-08-03Institutions that have collected video testimonies from the few remaining Holocaust survivors are grappling with how to continue their mission to educate and commemorate. Noah Shenker calls attention to the ways that audiovisual testimonies of the Holocaust have been mediated by the institutional histories and practices of their respective archives. Shenker argues that testimonies are shaped not only by the encounter between interviewer and interviewee, but also by technical practices and the testimony process. He analyzes the ways in which interview questions, the framing of the camera, and curatorial and programming preferences impact how Holocaust testimony is molded, distributed, and received. -
Israeli Holocaust Drama
by
Call Number: PJ5043 .I87 1996ISBN: 9780815626732Publication Date: 1995-12-31An anthology of Israeli Holocaust drama which provides readers with the opportunity to see events in the context of contemporary Judaism, especially as the issues bear upon the question of Palestine. Writers in this text include Joshua Sobol, Motti Lerner and Ben-Zion Tomer. -
German Holocaust Literature
by
Call Number: PT405 .C38 1989ISBN: 0820400726Publication Date: 1989-01-01This study attempts to analyse the development of Holocaust literature by German and German-Jewish authors up to 1970. The study traces the development of the character of the «Nazi», specifically the SS-man, from a one-dimensional visual representation of evil to an individual personage, whose acts are prompted by various psychological motivations. A parallel development is traced in the treatment of the «Jewish victim» who progresses from being merely noble, pure and defenseless to a human being with equally strong individualistic traits. The main progression lies in the gradual assumption of responsibility for the events of the Holocaust by the whole nation, as perceived by the authors of the late 60s and 70s, instead of the dissociative attitudes of the immediate post-war writers. -
The Holocaust Short Story
by
Call Number: PN56.H55 M84 2020ISBN: 9780367339203Publication Date: 2019-11-26The Holocaust Short Story is the only book devoted entirely to representations of the Holocaust in the short story genre. The book highlights how the explosiveness of the moment captured in each short story is more immediate and more intense, and therefore recreates horrifying emotional reactions for the reader. The main themes confronted in the book deal with the collapse of human relationships, the collapse of the home, and the dying of time in the monotony and angst of surrounding death chambers. The book thoroughly introduces the genres of both the short story and Holocaust writing, explaining the key features and theories in the area. Each chapter then looks at the stories in detail, including work by Ida Fink, Tadeusz Borowski, Rokhl Korn, Frume Halpern, and Cynthia Ozick. This book is essential reading for anyone working on Holocaust literature, trauma studies, Jewish studies, Jewish literature, and the short story genre.
Periodicals
Holocaust and Genocide Studies: online journal issued by United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, United States Holocaust Memorial Council, and Yad ṿa-shem, rashut ha-zikaron la-Shoʼah ṿela-gevurah
The Journal of Holocaust Research: online journal issued by the Weiss-Livnat International Center for Holocaust Research and Education at the University of Haifa
Eastern European Holocaust Studies: online journal issued by Memorialʹnyĭ t͡sentr Holokostu "Babyn I͡Ar"
Holocaust: Studies and Materials: online journal issued by Centrum Badań nad Zagładą Żydów
Holocaust Studies: A Journal of Culture and History: online journal by Routledge
Poetry
The listed poetry books are by authors who significantly contributed to Holocaust literature. Not all works listed here, however, touch directly on the Holocaust.
-
Variable Directions
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .P32 A256 1989ISBN: 9780865473836Publication Date: 1989-07-01
-
Points of Departure
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .P32 A25 1981ISBN: 9780827602014Publication Date: 1982-03-01 -
My Little Sister and Selected Poems 1965-1985
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .K6 M9 1986ISBN: 0932440207Publication Date: 1986-07-30The title sequence is justly famous as one of the major pieces of literature to come out of the Holocaust. It appears here with a new selection of Abba Kovner's work spanning his forty-plus years as one of Israel's leading poets. The noted American-Israeli poet Shirley Kaufman had the privilege of working directly with Kovner on these versions in the years before his death. -
A Canopy in the Desert
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .K6 C3ISBN: 9780822952329Publication Date: 1973-01-15An International Poetry Forum selection, this collection introduces America to some of Israel's most acclaimed poets. -
Sloan Kettering
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .K6 A25 2002ISBN: 9780805241983Publication Date: 2002-08-27In his final collection of poems, Abba Kovner -- the famed Jewish resistance fighter who led the Vilna ghetto uprising during World War II -- records his battle with cancer and his deep engagement with life up to his last days. A beloved master of Hebrew literature, Abba Kovner was a poet, novelist, and essayist whose work has seldom appeared in English. These clear, spare, luminous verses bring his voice to us in all its fullness. Facing the one fight he knew he would lose, Kovner records in these poems his final weeks, as he was dying of cancer at Memorial Sloan-Kettering in New York. Weaving together his perceptions of the present moment ("How little we need to be happy: a half kilo increase in weight, /two circuits of the corridors"), sorrow at leaving the world and at the dramatic loss of his vocal chords ("Have I no right to die/while still alive?"), and memories of his heroic comrades in the Baltic forest, Kovner emerges from these pages with yet another kind of heroism. His desire to give a complete account of the gift of life, even as that life is failing, makes these poems deeply moving and unforgettable. -
Selected poems [of] Abba Kovner
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .K6 A24 1971 HUGHESISBN: 9780140421378Publication Date: 1971Kovner, Abba. My little sister. Originally published as 'Ahoti ketanah'. Tel Aviv: Sifriat Poalim, 1967
-
Poems of Paul Celan
by
Call Number: PT2605 .E4 A25 1995ISBN: 9780892551347Publication Date: 1988-01-01This peerless edition, first published in 1980, remains the English-language standard for the poetry of Paul Celan, the Holocaust's most haunting, and haunted, voice. -
Selected Poems and Prose of Paul Celan
by
Call Number: PT2605 .E4 A22 2001ISBN: 9780393049992Publication Date: 2000-11-01The most wide-ranging volume of the work of Europe's leading postwar poet. Paul Celan was born in 1920 in the East European province of Bukovina. Soon after his parents, German-speaking Jews, had perished at the hands of the Nazis, Celan wrote "Todesfuge" ("Deathfugue"), the most compelling poem to emerge from the Holocaust. Self-exiled in Paris, for twenty-five years Celan continued writing in his German mother tongue, although it had "passed through the thousand darknesses of deathbringing speech." His writing purges and remakes that language, often achieving a hope-struck radiance never before seen in modern poetry. But in 1970, his psychic wounds unhealed, Celan drowned himself in the Seine. This landmark volume includes youthful lyrics, unpublished poems, and prose. All poems appear in the original and in translation on facing pages. John Felstiner's translations stem from a twenty-year immersion in Celan's life and work. John Bayley wrote in the New York Review of Books, "Felstiner translates . . . brilliantly." -
Paul Celan
by
Call Number: PT2605 .E4 A2 2005ISBN: 9780520223806Publication Date: 2005-03-14The best introduction to the work of Paul Celan, this anthology offers a broad collection of his writing in unsurpassed English translations along with a wealth of commentaries by major writers and philosophers. The present selection is based on Celan's own 1968 selected poems, though enlarged to include both earlier and later poems, as well as two prose works, The Meridian, Celan's core statement on poetics, and the narrative Conversation in the Mountains. This volume also includes letters to Celan's wife, the artist Gisèle Celan-Lestrange; to his friend Erich Einhorn; and to René Char and Jean-Paul Sartre--all appearing here for the first time in English.
-
Poems of Paul Celan
by
Call Number: PT2605 .E4 1989 DANOWSKIISBN: 9780892551408Publication Date: 1988-01-01Selections from the poetic works of Paul Celan published 1952-1976, in German original and English translation
-
Paul Celan
by
Call Number: PT2605.E4 A2 2013bISBN: 9780892554249Publication Date: 2013-03-27Paul Celan is the preeminent poet of the Holocaust. His chilling, haunted verse, evocative and agonizingly spare, is among the essential writing of the modern age. Paul Celan: 70 Poems is a portable selection of some of his most essential work, translated by Michael Hamburger (1924-2007), who for more than thirty years has provided the English-speaking world with the truest access to Celan's oeuvre. -
-
On the Blossoming
by
Call Number: PJ5053 .G6 A713 1992ISBN: 9780824000349Publication Date: 1992-07-01These early poems by Leah Goldberg were first published in English in 1992. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. -
Selected Poetry and Drama
by
Call Number: PJ5053 .G6 A23 2005ISBN: 9781592641116Publication Date: 2005-05-01This collection features a new translation by Rachel Tzvia Back of a large selection of Goldberg's poetry, as well at T. Carmi's classic translation of her only work for the theatre, The Lady of the Castle. -
With This Night
by
Call Number: PJ5053 .G6 I413 2011ISBN: 9780292726475Publication Date: 2011-06-01When she arrived in Palestine in 1935 at the age of twenty-four, Leah Goldberg was already known as a significant emerging poet in contemporary Hebrew literature. Today, mention of her name is apt to evoke a nostalgic sigh among Israelis who have grown up hearing her poems read, quoted, recollected, and--having been set to some four hundred melodies--sung on the radio. In the wake of overwhelming new attention on Goldberg's work in Israel, With This Night makes available for the first time in English the final collection of poetry that Goldberg published during her lifetime. -
Shirim mi-Bergen-Belzen, 1944/Wiersze z Bergen Belsen, 1944 (Poems from Bergen-Belsen, 1944 in Hebrew and Polish)
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .O74 W5416 2005ISBN: 9789653082427Publication Date: 2005Uri Orlev was 13 years old when he was sent to Bergen-Belsen in 1944, together with his aunt and his younger brother. His mother had been killed and his father was far away in Russia. During his two years in the camp, he wrote 15 poems in Polish in a notebook his aunt had given him. The notebook survived, and now, some 60 years later, Orlev has translated them into Hebrew. The poems show a teenager too mature for his age, who witnessed suffering, hunger and death day after day. “God, where is justice, where is morality, when some are dying while others live,” he writes when he describes Jews being crammed into trains transporting them to their death as Poles enjoyed their freedom.
From https://www.ithl.org.il/book/poems-from-bergen-belsen-1944/
Prose
The listed books are by authors who significantly contributed to Holocaust literature. Not all works listed here, however, touch directly or only on the Holocaust.
-
-
-
-
Phoenix over the Galilee byCall Number: PJ5054 .K343 K4413Publication Date: 1969Sequel to House of dolls
-
-
-
Traces
by
Call Number: PG7165 .I44 A24 1997ISBN: 9780805045574Publication Date: 1997-08-01Stories depict life in occupied Poland, including acts of courage, fear, and desperation. -
Scrolls of Testimony
by
Call Number: PJ5054 .K6 M4413 2001ISBN: 9780827607101Publication Date: 2001-01-01Scrolls of Testimony is a profoundly moving chronicle of the Holocaust. The author, award-winning Israeli writer Abba Kovner, intended this book as an almost liturgical account of the greatest tragedy to befall the Jewish people, and he wrote it in the Jewish tradition of megillot, or scrolls. Taken together, the pages are reminiscent of the Talmud, with the central text surrounded by notes and excerpts of poetry and prose. Scrolls of Testimony reads like a suspense novel - powerful, dramatic and compelling - but it is more than that. It is the testimony of the author woven with others' eyewitness accounts, diary entries, poems, and even last wills and testaments. Many of these were carefully recorded and hidden during the war at great personal risk to the writers, who desperately wanted to record the unfathomable events unfolding around them. -
The Black Hole of Auschwitz
by
Call Number: D804.3 .L479 2005ISBN: 0745632408Publication Date: 2005-12-30The Black Hole of Auschwitz brings together Levi's writings on the Holocaust and his experiences of the concentration camp, as well as those on his own accidental status as a writer and his chosen profession of chemist. In this book Levi rails intelligently and eloquently against what he saw as the ebb of compassion and interest in the Holocaust, and the yearly assault on the veracity and moral weight of the testimonies of its survivors. For Levi, to keep writing and, through writing, to understand why the Holocaust could happen, was nothing less than a safeguard against the loss of a collective memory of the atrocities perpetrated against the Jewish people. This moving book not only reveals the care and conviction with which he wrote about the Holocaust, but also shows the range of Levi's interests and the skill, thoughtfulness and sensitivity he brought to all his subjects. The consistency and moral force of Levi's reflections and the clarity and intimacy of his style will make this book appeal to a wide readership, including those who have read and been moved by his masterpiece If This is a Man. -
The Drowned and the Saved
by
Call Number: D804.3 .L4813 1989ISBN: 9780679721864Publication Date: 1989-04-23Levi wrote of the moral collapse that occurred in Auschwitz and the fallibility of human memory that allows such atrocities to recur. Levi's last book published before his death in 1987. -
Survival in Auschwitz and The Reawakening
by
Call Number: D804 .G4 L373 1986ISBN: 9780671605414Publication Date: 1986-02-01The author describes his twenty month ordeal in the Nazi death camp.
Movies
The garden that floated away, director and photographer, Ruth Walk; producer, Yael Perlov; produced for Keshet Broadcasting
For 45 years, in a modest flat in Holon (near Tel Aviv) Ida Fink wrote in Polish about her childhood memories-- of the years she and her sister spent under false identities in Poland and Germany, trying to survive the horrors of the Second World War. Never giving up her mother tongue, or her old Polish typewriter, Fink's acclaimed novels and short stories were praised for their unique attentiveness to the complexity of life as it was lived in the darkest days of our history. The visual and lyrical qualities of her stories are translated into this cinematic portrait of a writer who has retained her sensitivity and poetic talent through the horrors of loss, fear, hatred and betrayal. Allowing us a unique insight into her current life, the film follows the remarkable relationship between the two sisters, now in their 80s, as they move into a flat together in Tel Aviv.
A trip to the other planet, written and directed by Tom Kless
An animated portrait of the hallucinatory journey of consciousness experienced by Jewish writer Yechiel De-Nur ("KaTzetnik 135633") during a psychiatric treatment with the hallucinate drug LSD in the Netherlands, 1976. The treatment sends De-Nur to revisit the "Other Planet" of Auschwitz, during which, De- Nur sees himself as the Nazi officer who sent him to burn in the crematorium. This life-altering experience releases De-Nur from his repressed traumas of the past, and engulfs him with new prophecies of a dark possible future.
Partisans of Vilna, Ciesla Foundation presents; directed by Josh Waletzky; produced by Aviva Kempner; narration written by Josh Waletzky
How does a community respond to a threat so vast and inhuman as to beggar the imagination? How does an individual resist that threat, when resistance may bring harm to the very people one is trying to defend? This documentary records the testimony of Holocaust survivors who, as young Jewish men and women in the Lithuanian city of Vilna, engaged in armed resistance against the Nazis, often in opposition to fellow Jews. Politically active Jewish youth, many members of vigorous Zionist and Socialist groups, realized what was happening, and in 1942 formed an organized resistance. To fight the Nazis was, in the eyes of many Vilna Jews, to threaten the lives of all those who remained in the ghetto. But to submit to the Nazis was also to support a murderous regime and participate in the annihilation of one's own people. The film addresses a question history has answered: Was it better to preserve life at any cost, or to risk death in order to preserve honor?