Jewish Studies Research Guide

Current newspapers:

Atlanta

• Atlanta Jewish Times -- The mission of the Atlanta Jewish Times is to create a sense of community throughout the geographically dispersed Jewish people of greater Atlanta.

U.S.

• Forward is the online version of the formerly Yiddish, then Yiddish-English language newspaper founded in 1897 as the Jewish Daily Forward (or פֿאָרווערטס Forverts in Yiddish). It had the largest circulation among Jewish newspapers issued in the U.S. Complete backfile available on Microfilm 4067. Issues from 1994 to the present are included in Ethnic NewsWatch.
• Jewish Journal is based in Los Angeles and is part of TRIBE Media Corp.
• The Detroit Jewish News is the publication of the Detroit Jewish News Foundation, a nonprofit organization. It also created the William Davidson Digital archive of Jewish Detroit History.
• The Jewish Telegraphic Agency was established in 1917 and is part of the not-for-profit 70 Faces Media. With correspondents in New York, Washington, Israel, Europe and cities around the globe, JTA provides extensive coverage of political, economic and social developments affecting Jews all over the world.
• Tablet Magazine is a Jewish magazine about the world launched in 2009. 
• Cleveland Jewish News was formed in 1964 as an independent successor of two privately owned Jewish newspapers in Cleveland: The Jewish Review & Observer and the Jewish Independent.

Canada

• The Canada Jewish News is a not-for-profit media organization, established in 1960.

United Kingdom

• Jewish News was established in 1997 and, since 2020, the Jacob Foundation owns it.

Israel

• Haaretz הארץ has been published since 1918. For Emory University affiliates, the content in English and Hebrew is currently accessible via the Database Nexis Uni.
• Jerusalem Post The online edition of the daily newspaper, with an archive of the past year's issues. Issues from 1989 to the present are available on Newsbank Access World News
• Maariv מעריב is the online version of the popular Israeli daily in the Jerusalem Post's ownership.
• The Times of Israel is a Jerusalem-based online newspaper founded in 2012 to document developments in Israel, the Middle East and around the Jewish world. 

Newspapers with related content:

• Christian Science Monitor -- Historical (1908-1991) Provides full text of all articles.
• New York Times Historical 1851-2001 Offers full text images of all articles.
• Times Digital Archive (1785-2011) Displays the fully searchable complete text of every issue of the newspaper. Searches can be done on keyword, advertisements, editorials, people and photographs.
• Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016
• Washington Post 1877-1988 A full text database and index.
• Proquest Historical Databases

The portal Compact Memory comprises 500 Jewish newspapers and journals of the German speaking area of the years 1768–1938 and beyond. These periodicals represent the complete religious, political, social, literary and academic spectrum of the Jewish community and the "Science of Judaism", thus constituting a major source for the research on Judaism in the Modern Age."

"Historical Jewish Press is a rich resource compiled, maintained and continuously developed at the National Library of Israel. It is a library of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. The website displays newspapers in their original layout and in pdf form. Full-text search is also available for all content.

Jewish Historical Newspapers includes The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-2000), The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990). 

The full run (1884–1948) of the Hungarian language Jewish literary-scholarly periodical Magyar Zsidó Szemle is available online. 

Palestine Post/The Jerusalem Post backfile 1932-1988 makes the historical newspaper accessible online. Issues from 1933 to 1988 are also available on microfilm (MICFILM 3532) in the Woodruff Library. The Jerusalem Post continues to be published and is available online.

Yiddish Newspapers on Microfilm: Der Yidisher siṭizen = The Hebrew citizen (1893-? Boston); Der Teglikher herold Daily Jewish herald/ Ṿarhayṭ (1894-1905 New York); Daily Jewish press = Teglikhe presse (1898-? New York/Philadelphia); Nyu Yorḳer abend posṭ = N.Y. Jewish abend-post (1899-1901 New York); Idishe gazeṭen = Jewish gazette ([1874] 1876-1927 [1928] New York); Der Folḳsadṿoḳaṭ = Volksadvocat (1888- New York); Di Arbayter Tsaytung Arbeiter Zeitung = Workman's paper (1890-1902 New York); Der Yudisher herold = The Jewish herald (1890- New York); Das Abend-Blatt = Evening paper (1894-1902 New York).

Additional Yiddish newspapers: Di tsukunft = The Future (1892- New York); Oyfn shṿel = Oifn shvel (April-July 1975).

The Leo Baeck Institute New York's collection of newspapers and books the German-Jewish diaspora published throughout the twentieth century is accessible online.

The Union List of Digitized Jewish Historical Newspapers is continuously being updated. It includes the links to the portals where the newspapers' content is accessible.

Turning Over the Page of Time: Jewish Periodicals in Serbia, 1888--2006, is a publication by Biljana Albahari that lists the Jewish serials published in Serbian territory during the long twentieth century, showing the linguistic diversity of Jewish communities living in the region.

Related:

Jewish newspapers and topics related to the Jewish experience are searchable in the American newspaper collection of the Library of Congress, available from Chronicling America.