A Classics Research Guide

Classics at Emory University

• Department of Classics

  Homepage for the Department of Classics at Emory.

• Greek and Roman Art at the Carlos Museum

  The collection of Greek and Roman art contained in Emory's Carlos Museum.

• Samothrace: Framing the Mysteries in the Sanctuary of the Great Gods

  Archaeological research on the ancient site of Samothrace under the supervision of Bonna Wescoat.

• Samothracian Networks

  A digital humanities project under the direction of Sandra Blakely that brings together geospatial tools and human social networking for the study of the ancient mediterranean.

• Views of Rome

  This project uses a high-resolution image of Pirro Ligorio’s map of ancient Rome (1561) to create an interactive digital tool for use by students in the classroom and by the general public.

Online Resources

• Electronic Resources for Classicists

  A selected bibliography of online resources for the study of classics.

• Online Canon of Greek Authors and Works (TLG)

  Searchable bibliographical database that contains all known authors and works from antiquity to Byzantium with information about their printed editions.

• Diotima

  Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

• Bryn Mawr Classical Review

  Open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).

• GNOMON Bibliographic Databank

  An online version of the Gnomon bibliography is available via the Web.

• TOCS-IN

  Tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals (nearly 200 journals and over 75,000 articles included).

• Perseus Digital Library

  Collection of primary and secondary sources on classics.

• Theoi Greek Mythology

  A site exploring Greek mythology and the gods in classical literature and art.

• The Internet Classics Archive

  Contains 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors.

Journals

• Alphabetical List of Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies

  An exhaustive directory of open access journals (Ancient World Online)

• Ancient Narrative

  Journal interested in the ancient Greek, Roman, and Jewish novelistic traditions as well as the reception of these traditions in modern literature, film and music.

• Arachnion

  Journal of Ancient Literature and History on the Web

• Didaskalia

  Peer-reviewed electronic journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman performance.

• Digressus

  Refereed online journal publishing reviews and articles related to Classical Studies, Archaeology and Byzantine Studies.

• Electronic Antiquity

  Open access journal on the classics, now defunct.

• Histos

  Online Journal of Ancient Historiography

• Scholia

  Studies in Classical Antiquity