Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

A Classics Research Guide: Primary Sources

Resources to help Classics, Ancient Mediterranean Studies, and the study of the civilization and cultural achievements of ancient Greece and Rome

Primary Sources

Primary sources for classics are the documents and artifacts from the ancient Mediterranean world. These sources are the backbone of classical studies. On this page we will look at the main resources for locating primary sources.

Primary Sources Online

Digital Loeb Classical Library

Digital Loeb Classical Library
URL: http://pid.emory.edu/gs2x0

The Digital Loeb Classical Library is an online version of the Loeb Classical Library series. This series offers introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings, making it a key resource for primary sources. There are more than 500 discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE). Most major classical authors are covered and new editions are added each year.

   
Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library
URL: http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/collection?collection=Perseus:collection:Greco-Roman

The Perseus Digital Library (or Perseus Project) presents a substantial collection of Greek and Roman writings in both their original languages and in English translation. This is a free resource and there are some holes in the collection and some works are quite dated. One of the strengths of the Perseus Digital Library is the Greek and Latin morphology tools that are interconnected to the texts. See the Perseus Digital Library Research Guide at Pitts Theology Library.

   
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
URL: http://pid.emory.edu/rwdqp

TLG is a comprehensive digital library of Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE. There are over 12,000 works from 4,000 authors in the database. Its strengths are searching for specific Greek words across multiple works or simply reading the texts in the Greek. There is some connectivity to the Perseus Digital Library but it is not integrated very well. See the TLG Research Guide at Pitts Theology Library.

   
Library of Latin Texts

Library of Latin Texts
URL: http://pid.emory.edu/cjx9h

The Library of Latin Texts, published by Brepols, contains more than 3,200 Latin works from Antiquity to the twentieth century. Some of the texts are drawn from the following series: Bibliotheca scriptorum Romanum Teubneriana and Corpus Christianorum.

   
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graceum Online

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graceum Online
URL: http://pid.emory.edu/ckk78

A database of Greek inscriptions, which includes the text of the inscriptions and information about them.

   
Searchable Greek Inscriptions

Searchable Greek Inscriptions
URL: http://epigraphy.packhum.org/inscriptions/

A collection of both Greek and Latin inscriptions based on their location.

   
ARTstor

ARTstor
URL: http://pid.emory.edu/chtk7

A visual database of art and artifacts. You can search by keyword and limit the results to a certain time period and geographical location.

   
Census of Antique Art and Architecture

Census of Antique Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance (via Dyabola Projekt)
URL: http://pid.emory.edu/cj789

A database containing images of classical art and architecture that known during the Renaissance along with references from the Renaissance period. [attach video]

   
Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
URL: http://www.cvaonline.org/cva/

The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum ('Corpus of Ancient Vases') consists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. The first fascicule appeared in 1922 and since then around 380 have appeared, illustrating more than 100,000 vases in 24 countries.

   
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae
URL: http://www.limc-france.fr/

LIMC is a searchable database that displays portrayals of figures from classical mythology. Here you can find images along with a lot of important metadata such as provenance, date, medium, and bibliography. Many of the images are relatively small, though some can be enlarged. This is the digital counterpart to the series located at Woodruff Reference NX650 .M9 L48.

Primary Sources at Woodruff Library (non-digital collections)

Greek literature is located in the Woodruff stacks between the call numbers PA3050 and PA5868. Latin literature is located between call numbers PA6000 and PA8595. Within these sections both primary texts and secondary literature are blended. There are some notable series and editions:

Loeb Classical Library

Loeb Classical Library
Contains Greek/Latin text plus English translation on facing page.
Find in discoverE

   
Oxford Classical Texts

Oxford Classical Texts
Contains a critical edition of the Greek/Latin text.
Find in discoverE

   
Cambridge Greek and Latin Classics

Cambridge Greek and Latin Classics
Contains Greek/Latin text with a commentary in English.
Find in discoverE

   
Bibliotheca Teubneriana

Bibliotheca Teubneriana
Critical edition displaying the Greek or Latin text; introduction in Latin.
Find in discoverE

   

To find images from antiquity, such as depictions of gods and goddesses, check out the Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae, located at Woodruff Reference: NX650 .M9 L48.