Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

A Classics Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Resources to help Classics, Ancient Mediterranean Studies, and the study of the civilization and cultural achievements of ancient Greece and Rome

Secondary Sources

A secondary source is a document or recording that interprets or discusses prior events, documents, or physical objects. For the study of classics, secondary sources are typically books or journal articles that address the ancient world or its literature.

Databases

For more databases related to classics, see the Databases @ Emory page

L’Année philologique

L’Année philologique
URL: Online: http://pid.emory.edu/chrhr

L'Année philologique on the Internet is an international bibliography that contains citations for Greek and Roman studies. The database covers all aspects of classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, religion, music, mythology, science, numismatics, and other subjects.

   
JSTOR

JSTOR
URL: Online: http://pid.emory.edu/cjvbf

JSTOR, the Journal Storage Project, provides access to digitized versions to complete runs of scholarly journals related to classics and the ancient Mediterranean world. There are dozens of journal titles related to classical studies, including American Journal of Archaeology, The American Journal of Philology, Classical Philology, The Classical Review, The Journal of Roman Studies, and Transactions of the American Philological Association. Being able to browse or search across these titles and many more in a single database makes JSTOR a good resource for classical study.

   
The Dyabola Projekt

The Dyabola Projekt
URL: Online: http://pid.emory.edu/cj789

Projekt Dyabola is a repository of multiple databases that indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews dealing with Classics, art history, archaeology, and other fields related to the ancient Mediterranean. It covers Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion.

   

Abbreviations for Journals, Ref works, etc.

The abbreviations of journal titles in classical studies and related fields found in the Oxford Classical Dictionary and L'Année philologique are widely used.

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th Edition
http://classics.oxfordre.com/page/abbreviation-list/

Liste des périodiques dépouillés [PDF]

Abbreviations for the American Journal for Archaeology (AJA)  Abbreviations used in articles published in the AJA and used in many other publications

Books at Emory

We recommend using discoverE to locate books (including e-books) dealing with classics and the ancient world. If you wish to browse books at the Woodruff Library, the following table of call numbers should be a helpful guide.

Subclass PA: Classical Philology and Literature

PA1-199

   

Classical philology

PA201-899

   

Greek philology and language

PA1000-1179

   

Medieval and modern Greek language

PA2001-2915

   

Latin philology and language

PA3000-3049

   

Classical literature

PA3050-4505

   

Greek literature

PA3051-3285

   

Literary history

PA3300-3516

   

Collections

PA3520-3564

   

Criticism, interpretation, etc.

PA3601-3681

   

Translations

PA3818-4505

   

Individual authors

PA5000-5660

   

Byzantine and modern Greek literature

PA5301-5638.36

   

Individual authors

PA6000-6971

   

Roman literature

PA6001-6097

   

Literary history

PA6100-6140

   

Collections

PA6141-6144

   

Criticism, interpretation, etc.

PA6155-6191

   

Translations

PA6202-6971

   

Individual authors

PA8001-8595

   

Medieval and modern Latin literature

PA8200-8595

   

Individual authors

  
Subclass DE: History of the Greco-Roman World

DE1-100

   

History of the Greco-Roman world

DE1-15.5

   

General

DE23-31

   

Geography

DE46-73.2

   

Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography

DE80-100

   

History

  
Subclass DF: History of Greece

DF10-289

   

Ancient Greece

DF10-16

   

General

DF27-41

   

Geography. Travel

DF75-136

   

Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography

DF207-241

   

History

DF207-218

   

General

DF220-241

   

By period

DF220-221

   

Bronze Age, Minoan, and Mycenaean ages

DF221.2-224

   

ca. 1125-500 B.C. Age of Tyrants

DF225-226

   

Persian wars, 499-479 B.C.

DF227-228

   

Athenian supremacy. Age of Pericles. 479-431 B.C.

DF229-230

   

Peloponnesian War, 431-404 B.C.

DF230.9-231.9

   

Spartan and Theban supremacies, 404-362 B.C.

DF232.5-233.8

   

Macedonian epoch. Age of Philip. 359-336 B.C.

DF234-234.9

   

Alexander the Great, 336-323 B.C.

DF235-238.9

   

Hellenistic period, 323-146.B.C.

DF239-241

   

Roman epoch, 140 B.C.-323/476 A.D.

DF251-289

   

Local history and description

  
Subclass DG: History of Italy

DG11-365

   

Ancient Italy. Rome to 476

DG11-16

   

General

DG27-41

   

Geography. Description and travel

DG51-70

   

Local history and description

DG51-55

   

Regions in Italy, A-Z

DG59

   

Regions outside of Italy, A-Z

DG61-69

   

Rome (City) to 476

DG70

   

Other cities, towns, etc., A-Z

DG75-190

   

Antiquities. Civilization. Culture. Ethnography

DG201-365

   

History

DG201-215

   

General

DG221-365

   

By period

DG221-225

   

Pre-Roman Italy. Etruria. Etruscans

DG231-269

   

Kings and Republic, 753-27 B.C.

DG233-233.9

   

Foundations and kings, 753-510

DG235-269

   

Republic, 509-27

DG269.5-365

   

Empire, 27 B.C. - 476 A.D.

DG269.5-274.3

   

General

DG275-309.3

   

Constitutional Empire, 27 B.C. - 284 A.D.

DG310-365

   

284-476. Decline and fall