UPDATED June 23, 2025:
Are you an RA and looking for community during your summer? Join other RAs in Room 5K for brown bag lunch and quite working every Monday and Wednesday from 12pm - 4pm through August 11, 2025, courtesy of Dean Lawrence.
Dean Lawrence has also created a Microsoft Teams page where RAs can chat with each other to arrange outings, swap advice, support each other, or anything else that could be helpful to an Emory Law Research Assistant.
Your research for faculty will probably require that you use Westlaw and Lexis. But you may need additional databases for specialized legal, historical, interdisciplinary, and international research. These databases in MacMillan Law Library’s subscriptions offer additional content, including primary materials, secondary sources, current awareness, case and statutory background, additional subject areas in law, historical materials, and foreign and international law.
You can find the complete list of law library databases by subject and alphabetically. Woodruff Library has its own extensive list of databases that you can search, or find by subject or alphabetically.
Hein Online provides libraries of legal materials, including primary materials and law reviews, in PDF format, with most collections including older, historical documents.
Features include:
Use for:
Bloomberg Law requires an individual password, which you can register for by clicking "Academic Registration" and use your @emory.edu email address to request an account. Bloomberg will then validate you are indeed with Emory Law, then will send you an Emory Law-based Bloomberg Law password. This verification process can take anywhere from 15 minutes to 24 hours. Once you receive your Emory Law credentials, you will have access to Bloomberg Law so long as you remain at Emory Law.
Bloomberg Law includes primary and secondary legal resources, case dockets, company and market information and news, and legal newsletters and portfolios.
Features include:
Use for:
ProQuest Legislative Insight and ProQuest Congressional provide compiled legislative histories and legislative history documents.
Features include:
Use for:
Guides to using ProQuest Congressional and Proquest Legislative Insight
The law library has numerous foreign and international law databases to help you find the law of other countries, international law documents such as treaties, and secondary sources for background and citations.
Foreign Law Guide describes legal systems and resources for other countries and includes citations and some links to major foreign statutes by topic. Includes English language translations where available. Includes recommended secondary sources.
Lexology Panoramic: Q&A articles on the law of other countries in commercial subjects including intellectual property, corporate, banking, tax, and white collar crime, with citations to applicable statutes. Includes a Compare tool for comparing questions between jurisdictions. The version on Lexology is only available in the law school, but Panoramic is also available on Bloomberg Law.
Oxford Constitutions of the World: Constitutions of other countries in English and original versions, including historical constitutions, plus introductory notes and the Oxford Law Citator.
vLex Justis includes primary and secondary legal materials, including official gazettes, codes, court judgments, and newspapers, from Latin America, many European countries, Canada, and India. It has its own translation feature, allowing searching in English, and retrieving results with parallel text (original and translation).
ICLR: Official caselaw reports from England and Wales.
Oxford Reports on International Law includes caselaw on public international law from international and domestic courts.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law is a secondary source on international law on the Oxford Law platform. It includes detailed articles on topics in international law, with citations to primary resources and related secondary material.
Kluwer Arbitration: Individual registration required. Commercial and investment arbitration cases and awards from multiple courts and dispute resolution bodies, plus arbitration rules and secondary sources.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs 1832-1978: Records and briefs of historical U.S. Supreme Court cases
Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records from the US Court of Appeals, 1890-1980.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926: Searchable historical treatises on U.S. and British law
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1626-1926: Historical U.S. legal materials, early U.S. state codes, constitutional conventions, and city charters
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law 1600-1926. Pre-1926 treatises and monographs on foreign, comparative, international, Roman, Islamic, and Jewish law.
Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources 1600-1970. Session laws, codes, journals, and other primary materials from Europe and Latin America.
Use all of the Making of Modern Law databases for historical research, in state, federal, and foreign law research. The entire list of Making of Modern Law databases is available in our list of Electronic Resources. You can also find the included titles, for treatises and other documents, in our online catalog: Emory Libraries Search.
LLMC Digital: Older primary and secondary source materials from the U.S. and from other countries. Browse the titles under the Online Services tab.
Hein Online includes many historical resources, primary and secondary.
JSTOR includes many older journals in PDF format.
While working as a research assistant, you may need to find articles in academic fields other than law. Use Emory A to Z Databases to find Emory's databases by subject or by type of database. Or try these databases for inter-disciplinary research in multiple subject areas.
JSTOR: Full-text, pdf journals, including older volumes, plus book chapters and book reviews. Disciplines include Feminist & Women's Studies, International Relations, Public Health, Public Policy, Economics, Psychology, Criminology & Criminal Justice, History, and Statistics.
Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary database of full-text scholarly journals, periodicals, and newspapers. Searchable by full-text and fields. You can limit your search by publication type, document type (article, interview), or images. Many articles are available full-text in PDF or HTML, others have Find it @ Emory links to the catalog entries for the item in other databases.
Business Source Complete: Database of full-text popular and scholarly business journals in marketing, accounting, finance, and economics. Includes company profiles, industry profiles, and market research reports. You can limit your search by publication type, company, or ticker symbol.
PAIS International: Searchable index of articles, books, policy papers, and government documents in public policy, social policy, and social sciences, including international journals. Results as citations and abstracts with Find it @ Emory links.
Social Sciences Full Text: Full-text journals in the social sciences, including anthropology, political science, sociology, economics, and related fields.
Emory Library Search/Articles+: The catalog for the Emory libraries is also a database for searching articles in multiple campus databases. Log in first as an Emory user to get access to journal databases. Use the link to Articles+, search, then refine your search results by resource type, subject, or collection. Results will include links to the articles in campus databases.
You may need newspapers in your research, for finding recent and unpublished trial-level cases, historical information, op-eds, or information on state and local legislation.
Databases with current and modern newspaper content:
Historical newspapers (1980s and earlier):
Other newspaper databases at Emory:
Woodruff Library has a Research Guide to finding newspapers in databases available at Emory.
Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.
Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form.
Still have questions?
Stop by our Reference Desk to chat with us in person.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (May 12, 2025 - August 18, 2025)*:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 6pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
*Closed Friday, July 4, 2025
Reference Desk:
Monday: 1pm - 3pm
Tuesday: 1pm - 3pm (Virtual only)
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm
Thursday: 10am - 12pm (Virtual only)
Friday: Closed
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
