Contains African American newspapers published in the United States from 1835-1956. Complements the database African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998.
Access periodicals by and about African Americans, including academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, and more.
Access a diverse range of primary source materials from the 18th and 19th century America. Includes the Colonial Period, major wars, African-American History, the Industrial Revolution and more.
Proquest Historical Black Newspapers (Mainly 20th century newspapers)
Black Newspapers provides a record of social change spanning almost a century. Covers major events to everyday life; includes newspapers such as Atlanta Daily World, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, and Pittsburgh Courier.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Access the New York Amsterdam News from 1922-1993.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Los Angeles Sentinel 1934-2005, available via ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Covers the Cleveland Call and Post Search from 1934-1991.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Covers the Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Covers the Norfolk Journal and Guide Search Historical from 1916 - 2003.
Access Atlanta’s oldest continuously publishing black newspaper and the nation's first successful black daily from 1931-2003. For more recent issues see Newsbank Access World News database.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time..
Covers the Baltimore Afro-American Historical from 1893 - 1988.
Instructions for access: Access American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5 through the EBSCOhost databases list.
Contains American magazines and journals from the AAS, documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.