Research Guides: ENGRD 328W: Race, Gender, and Media Making / Salter: Find Genealogy and Local History Research

How to Use This Page

Welcome to the Genealogy and Local History Research Page! Use this guide to trace family histories using vital records (ie. census materials, birth and death certificates, property records, etc.) It is divided into the following sections: Essential Resources, Maps & Land Records, and Newspapers.

Essential Resources

Ancestry Library Edition-On campus access only This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition collection is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers. Created through a partnership with Ancestry.com
Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information

Family Search Research Wiki
Easy to navigate and useful starting point for genealogy research.
Cyndi's List (Georgia)
The largest compilation of online links related to genealogy.
PERSI: Periodical Source Index
Resources for discovering articles in periodicals about local history or genealogy. You can search by surname but also towns, events, cemeteries, etc. To get the article in question, place an interlibrary loan request.
FamilySearch (LDS)
Information is volunteer-sourced. Contains many resources including the International Genealogical Index of birth and marriage registers transcribed by volunteers.
The USGenWeb Project
Also, volunteer-run. Provides a means to initiate email discussion for county histories.
GenForum
An avenue to identify others working on intersecting family histories.
Find a Grave
Millions of records of graves. Includes a discussion forum.
Heritage Quest
The Emory Libraries do not subscribe to Heritage Quest. However, Emory students and staff members are eligible to sign up for a library card from the DeKalb Public Library. DPL offers virtual access to the database.

Maps & Land Records

Sanborn Maps

FIMo: Fire Insurance Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Fire insurance maps and atlases show entire communities as they were in the past, including businesses, private homes, public places, apartment buildings and government offices. Discover how an area changed over time by comparing maps from different time periods. Includes Sanborn and other fire insurance maps produced from other companies along with real estate maps.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities, 1884-1941 This link opens in a new window
Fire insurance maps of Georgia cities and towns dating from 1884 to 1941.

Land Ownership Maps

Ancestry Library Edition-On campus access only This link opens in a new window
Ancestry Library Edition collection is a major source of census and other records of interest to historical, social, and genealogical researchers. Created through a partnership with Ancestry.com
Subjects: History US, History World, Sociology, Statistics and Demography, Archives and Primary Sources, Biographies, Government Information

Newspapers

ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of historic and present-day news sources from around the world. You can focus your search to a region, current newspapers, or historical newspapers.
NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers.
All titles are the full electronic version of record.
Chronicling America This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of historical newspapers dating from 1900 to 1963.
Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Contains local and regional historical newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom and Ireland, Australia and other select countries.
NewspaperArchive This link opens in a new window
Provides current information and daily feeds from a wide variety of U.S. and international newspapers.

ENGRD 328W: Race, Gender, and Media Making / Salter

Introduction to Genealogy

Need Help Transcribing Documents?

How to Use This Page

Essential Resources

Maps & Land Records

Newspapers