Research Guides: ENGRD 328W: Race, Gender, and Media Making / Salter: Find Reference Sources

Biographical Information

You will find good factual information about newspaper editors in Biographical Databases.

Here are the slides from the library session on finding sources from March 18, 2024.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
Access biographical and critical essays on the lives, works and careers of the influential literary figures.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook This database is also cross-searchable with the Gale Literature Criticism Online database.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
A database of biographical information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Combines biographies from Gale Group biographical sources such as Biography and Genealogy Master Index and nearly one million biographies from Marquis Who's Who publications. In-depth profiles, thumbnail sketches, and full-text journal articles are included.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Source of biographical information of people from different eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.

Online Databases

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The first place to look for biographical information about African American editors. Contains several dozen major encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press on Black life.
Henry Louis Gates, Jr., editor-in-chief.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Contains the African American Biographical Database, a rich source of information for African American from the nineteenth and early twentieth century.
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.

Articles+
Not finding adequate information above? Try searching Articles+. It includes several reference databases that Emory subscribes to.

Print Sources

In addition to the online databases above, our library catalog is an excellent place to find print sources.

Here's one sample search to get you started.

Newspaper Indexes

You will find good factual information about newspapers in Newspaper Directories.

Library of Congress U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-present
This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them. Use the options to select a particular place and time, using keywords to locate specific titles.

Editor and Publisher Newspaper Data Book - Library Service Center (PN4700 .E43)
This is a great resource for finding quick facts about weekly and daily newspapers including circulation, date established, editors, etc. - request through Library Search and receive access within 24 hours