Research Guides: ARTHIST 252: European Painting and Sculpture, 1400-1700: Research Tools

Databases

Emory Libraries A-Z Databases is the best place to start to ensure you are authenticated as part of the Emory Community

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Includes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Curated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art History This link opens in a new window
Guide to scholarly literature in the field of Art History. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.

Vocabulary & Thesaurii

The Getty Institute's Getty Vocabulary Program has created databases and thesuari to help find information on artists, fine art terms, and geographic locations.

The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
The ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 120,000 records, including 293,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonyms, and language variants.

The Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)
The AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including 131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts, archival materials, and material culture.

The Getty Thesuarus of Geographic Names (TGN)
The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records, including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.