Why use reference sources?
Reference sources can:
Provide an overview of your topic
|
Are often written by scholars or experts in the field Provide key people, places, events, and terms that you can use to refine your searches Often offer suggestions for further reading
|
General Reference
- Credo Reference Unlimited This link opens in a new windowContains bilingual dictionaries and reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Art History This link opens in a new windowGuide to scholarly literature in the field of Art History. Subdivided into articles by established scholars covering major categories of research with corresponding bibliographies of recommended resources.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowElectronic editions of the Oxford Handbooks for political science and philosophy.
Handbooks, Guildes & Companions
Cambridge Companions: Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Oxford Handbooks Online: The Oxford Handbook Series brings together review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.
Other companions and bibliographies include: Blackwell Companions (example: Companion to American Cultural History) and Oxford Bibliographies (example: Atlantic History)