Skip to Main Content
Emory University Emory Libraries

ARTHIST 252: European Painting and Sculpture, 1400-1700

his course covers painting and sculpture in Italy, Spain, France, Flanders, Holland, and Englandfrom 1400-1700. We will look closely at some of the great works of the artists Donatello,Michelangelo, Leonardo da Vinci, Titian, Rubens, Caravaggio, etc.

Guides to Citing

For examples and help, see the Purdue Online Writing Lab -- Research & Citation Resource

Emory library also provides a guide to citation

If you are not sure which citation style to use, this guide has helpful advice structured by discipline. You may also want to check with the intended recipient of your work to see if they have specific style requirements.

Style Guides

The Citing Your Sources research guide provides information on why you should cite your sources, plagiarism and how to avoid common mistakes, as well as a list of style manuals. A selected list of style manuals are listed below.

The Chicago Manual of Style Online
Also in print: 16th ed. Z253 .U69 2010 Reference Desk

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed.
In print: LB2369 .G53 2009 Reference Desk
See the Purdue Online Writing Lab MLA Formatting and Style Guide for some online help.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed.
In print: BF76.7 .P83 2010 Reference Desk
See the Purdue Online Writing Lab APA Formatting and Style Guide for some online help.

Chicago

What is Chicago style citation?

Chicago style is typically used in history and other humanities disciplines. There are two types of Chicago style: The author-date style uses parenthetical citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information. The note-bibliography (NB) style requires the use of footnotes or endnotes, which means that the citation information is either at the foot of the page or at the end of the article and is noted at the end of the quoted or paraphrased text with a number in superscript. 

How do I cite in Chicago style?

For help with Chicago style, see the following resources:

  • You can copy and paste a reference cited in Chicago style directly from many library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
  • You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

MLA

What is Modern Language Association (MLA) style?

MLA style is commonly used in the humanities. It involves the use of parenthetical in-text citations, which means that the citation information is within parentheses beside the quoted or paraphrased information.

How do I cite sources in MLA style?

You can get help with MLA from the following:​

  • You can copy and paste a reference cited in MLA style directly from many of the library databases and from Google Scholar (to cite from Google Scholar, click on the quotation mark underneath the reference).
  • You can also use a citation manager software, like Zotero or EndNote.

Zotero

Zotero helps you collect, manage, and cite research sources. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies using Word or Open Office.

EndNote

End​Note is a program that makes it possible to collect and organize references in a database and instantly create properly formatted bibliographies.