Perseus Digital Library
- Perseus Digital Library
Perseus Digital Library is an open access collection of historical texts and images.
Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
- Digital LIMCA huge amount of documents and photographs were assembled in the course of the preparation of the Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC; 1981-1999 and 2009) and the Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum (ThesCRA; 2004-2014). This dataset is regularly updated and enhanced with new documents.
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae: (LIMC). Artemis Verlag, 1981
- REF NX650 .M9 L48
- .Vol. I: Aara - Aphlad (1981)
- Vol. II: Aphrodisias - Athena (1984)
- Vol. III: Atherion - Eros / Amor, Cupido (1986)
- Vol. IV: Eros (in Etruria) - Herakles (1988)
- Vol. V: Herakles - Kenchrias (1990)
- Vol. VI: Kentauroi et Kentaurides - Oiax (1992)
- Vol. VII: Oidipous - Theseus (1994)
- Vol. VIII: Thespiades - Zodiacus et Supplementum (1997)
- Indices
- 1. Museums, Collections, Sites (1999)
- 2. Literary and Epigraphical Sources mentioning lost Works. Mythological Names (1999)
- Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. Supplementum 2009 (LIMC),
- cheatsheet
Thesaurus Cultus et Rituum Antiquorum, Volumes I-V and Abbreviations and Index Volume by Call Number: Pitts Theology Library REF BL727 .T44 2004ISBN: 0892367873
Databases
Emory Libraries A-Z Databases is the best place to start to ensure you are authenticated as part of the Emory Community
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes magazine and journal articles, book reviews and conference proceedings, podcasts and more regarding fine arts, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Covers sources from 1914 to the present with selected full text.
- Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowContains citations for Greek and Roman studies focusing on the period from 2000 BC to 800 CE. Covers classical languages, literatures, history, philosophy, art, and more
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowCurated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
- DYABOLA: A Database of the Ancient World This link opens in a new windowContains access to the following: Archaeological Bibliography, The Subject Catalogue of the Roman-Germanic Commission, Attic Gravestones of the late 5th and the 4th Century B.C., Census of Antique Art and Architecture Known to the Renaissance, Corpus der antiken Denkmäler, die J. J. Winckelmann und seine Zeit kannten, Bibliography of Eurpean Prehistory, Monographs, Eurasienbibliographie des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts.
Indexes books, journals, collected essays, and book reviews related to Greek, Roman, Cretan-Mycenean, Etruscan, Egyptian, and early Christian and Byzantine history, art, culture, and religion. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Finding Images
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowCurated collections of digital images and associated data for non-commercial, scholarly, non-profit, and educational use. Over 1 million images.
- Google Art & Culture - Acropolis MuseumThe Acropolis Museum is an archaeological site-specific museum, housing more than 3.000 famous artefacts from the Athenian Acropolis, the most significant sanctuary of the ancient cit
- Google Art & Culture - Gods and Cults The sacred places of AkragasExhibition of the sacred places of Akragas
- Yale Digital CommonsGood source of images of coins from the ancient world
Texts, translations, and commentaries
- Collection of Greek Ritual Norms (CGRN)Epigraphical material for the study of Greek rituals
- Digital Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowContains introductions, texts, and translations of ancient Greek and Latin writings. Access many discrete volumes spanning from Homer (700 BCE) to Bede (700 CE).
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online This link opens in a new windowA collected bibliography of books and articles on Greek epigraphy, as well as summaries of Greek inscriptions.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new windowPlease note that TLG requires the creation of a personal account post-authentication to access Full Corpus.
Encompasses thousands of complete works of Greek literature from over 3,000 authors from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453.
Vocabulary & Thesaurii
The Getty Institute's Getty Vocabulary Program has created databases and thesuari to help find information on artists, fine art terms, and geographic locations.
The Union List of Artist Names (ULAN)
The
ULAN is a structured vocabulary containing around 120,000 records,
including 293,000 names and biographical and bibliographic information
about artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names,
pseudonyms, and language variants.
The Art and Architecture Thesaurus (AAT)
The
AAT is a structured vocabulary of around 34,000 concepts, including
131,000 terms, descriptions, bibliographic citations, and other
information relating to fine art, architecture, decorative arts,
archival materials, and material culture.
The Getty Thesuarus of Geographic Names (TGN)
The
TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records,
including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive
notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and
architecture.