Skip to Main Content

ARTHIST 470RW The Ancient City

This course will introduce students to current theoretical approaches to the study of urbanism, drawn from architectural studies, anthropology, and archaeology, as well as the major works of ancient and early modern authors from Vitruvius to Alberti.

Reference (Finding Background Information)

Brill's New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on all aspects of the ancient world. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and photographs.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World by John Roberts (Editor)
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek by Franco Montanari; Madeleine Goh (Editor); Chad Schroeder (Editor)
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Simon Hornblower; Antony Spawforth; Esther Eidinow
ISBN: 9780198706779

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access a wide-variety of art resources across Oxford’s art reference works. Includes articles, visual arts, digital images, biographies, bibliographies, encyclopedias, and more.

The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Roger S. Bagnall (Editor); Kai Brodersen (Editor); Craige B. Champion (Editor); Andrew Erskine (Editor); Sabine R. Huebner (Editor)
The Cambridge Ancient History: Volume 1, Part 1, Prolegomena and Prehistory by I. E. S. Edwards (Editor); C. J. Gadd (Editor); N. G. L. Hammond (Editor)
Call Number: D57 .C25
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)
Call Number: Reference DE5 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195170726

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2024 11:06 AM
URL: https://guides.libraries.emory.edu/ancient-city
Print Page

Subjects: Art History

Tags: Anatolian Art, Ancient Cities, Ancient Greek Art, Greeks, Romans, Urbanism