Research Guides:
Legal Dictionaries and Encyclopedias on International Law and Human Rights:
Study Aids:
Study aids related to international law and international human rights are available on reserve at the library service desk, and in the West Academic package. Some of the titles include:
International Law Frameworks by 
Principles of International Law by 
Black Letter Outline on International Human Rights by 
International Human Rights in a Nutshell by Law review articles: Westlaw, Lexis and Hein Online all have law review articles on international law and human rights, as well as U.S. civil rights.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP): Search by keyword, subject, country of publication or heading. Links to full-text of articles available on Hein, and to Emory's catalog for other availability. Law journals of other countries can be useful for researching the domestic law of those countries, as well as international law.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online): Database of journal articles, working papers, and policy briefs from NGOs and research institutes. Topic filters include Human Rights, Poverty, Gender Issues, Inequality, Public Health, and Discrimination.
JSTOR: Full-text, pdf journals, including older volumes. Disciplines include Feminist & Women's Studies, Health Policy, International Relations, Latin American Studies, Public Health, Public Policy, History, and Statistics.
Academic Search Complete: Multi-disciplinary database of full-text scholarly journals, searchable by full-text and fields. Many articles are available in PDF.
PAIS International: Searchable index of articles, books, policy papers, and government documents in public policy, social policy, and social sciences. Results as citations and abstracts with Find it @ Emory links.
Global Legal Monitor: Browse by topic or jurisdiction, including international courts, or search to find articles on developments in foreign and international law. Articles are in English and include links to primary and news sources referenced. The Topics list includes Human Rights and Civil Liberties, Equal Protection, Capital Punishment, Abortion, Same-Sex Marriage, and Poverty and Welfare Assistance.
Jurist World Legal News: Daily posts of legal news from around the world, with a search feature.
UN News: Portal of UN news on its activities, including topic areas in Advanced Search for Human Rights. There is also a keyword search. Subscribe to daily or weekly updates by topic.
ASIL Insights: Brief analysis of newsworthy stories in international courts, treaties, and international law
ASIL International Law in Brief: Abstracts of and links to new primary documents in international law, updates International Legal Materials
Human Rights Watch: Browse the topics list to find news and reports
Amnesty International: News and reports by topic and country. Topics include International Justice.
News sites that cover foreign and international news subjects may have coverage of human rights issues
Use Emory's Library Search to search the catalog for books on international law and human rights. For print materials, international human rights can be found, in general, near K3240. The catalog also includes Emory's collections of ebooks. A few titles on the jurisprudence of human rights are:
Justiciability of Human Rights Law in Domestic Jurisdictions by
This collection of 16 essays by 19 contributors calls into question the notion of domestic justiciability across a wide range of human rights issues, such as health, human dignity, criminal justice, property and transitional democracy. The authors offer critical analyses of a number of rights frameworks, focusing in considerable detail upon specific countries (e.g. Libya, Colombia, Ireland, the United Kingdom, Northern Ireland, South Africa, Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Kenya, India) and regions (e.g. Europe, Africa) to highlight the various challenges which continue to vex human rights advocates and scholars. In doing so they pinpoint some of the major tensions that still exist within developing and developed jurisdictions, via a myriad range of perspectives. The essays collectively present a diverse assortment of themes unified by a single 'golden thread' - that of the domestic interpretations given to human rights protections. They raise questions as to how such rights might be made substantive at the level of domestic implementation, and query the extent to which these rights can, or even should, be enforced by the courts. The potential strains in the relationship between human rights and the rule of law, is further called into question by another central theme: that of human dignity. A fundamental dilemma arises in respect of the extent to which a 'right' to dignity can best be promoted, protected or monitored by domestic decision-makers. Similar issues are apparent within the context of the protection of those human rights which increasingly tend to engage social, political or economic considerations and interests. Whilst these arguments are often framed principally in terms of 'rights,' the collective message that emerges from this book is that such rights may often be, in fact, essentially non-justiciable. Readers of this text will perhaps feel compelled to reflect carefully and fully upon what it tells us about human rights law generally, and the extent to which such rights may be truly amenable to adjudication by the courts.
Human Rights Institutions, Tribunals, and Courts by
This book introduces readers to the major human rights institutions, courts, and tribunals and critically assesses their legacy as well as the promise they hold for realizing human rights globally, and the challenges they face in doing so. It traces the rationale of setting up international institutions, courts, and tribunals with the aim of ensuring respect for international human rights law and presents their historic development, and critically analyzes their contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights. At the same time, it asks which promises old and new (and envisaged) human rights institutions hold for safeguarding human rights in light of continuing violations and recent global trends in human rights and politics. The first section presents institutions created within the framework of the United Nations. The second part of the volume assesses how international criminal tribunals have reframed human rights violations as individual criminal acts. The third part of the volume is devoted to established and emerging regional human rights bodies and courts around the world.
The Social Rights Jurisprudence in the Inter-American Court of Human Rights by
The Inter-American Court of Human Rights continues to build justiciability to determine the social rights of marginalised individuals and groups in the Americas. In this engaging book, Isaac de Paz González unveils the abilities, and the practices of the Inter-American Court's contribution to human rights policy in the Global South. This book offers a thorough and complete examination of the Inter-American Court's jurisprudence over its forty years of existence, within the framework of Economic and Social Rights (ESR). The author offers a concise discussion of both the historic and landmark cases in regards to ESR, and its theoretical basis, as well as giving insight into how to further improve and protect the lives of the most vulnerable people in the Americas. This book also exposes the possibility of enforcing legal remedies for poverty and structural discrimination in order to seek social justice.
Lawyers Beyond Borders by
Despite international conventions and human rights declarations, millions of people have suffered and continue to suffer torture, slavery, or violent deaths, with no remedy or recourse. They have fallen, in essence, "below the law," outside of law's protection. Often violated by their own governments, sometimes with support from transnational corporations, or nations benefiting from human rights violations, how can these victims find justice? Lawyers Beyond Borders reveals the inner workings of the advances and retreats in the quest for redress and restoration of human rights for those whom international legal-political systems have failed. The process of justice begins in the US, with a handful of human rights lawyers steeped in the American tradition of advancing civil rights through civil litigation. As the civil rights movement gained traction and an ample supply of lawyers, this small cadre turned their attention toward advancing international human rights, via the US legal system.
The Judicial Application of Human Rights Law by
Since the proclamation of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, over 165 countries have incorporated human rights standards into their legal systems: the resulting jurisprudence from diverse cultural traditions creates new dimensions to concepts first articulated in 1948. In this revised second edition, Nihal Jayawickrama draws on extensive sources to encapsulate the judicial interpretation of human rights law in one comprehensive volume. Jayawickrama covers the case law of the superior courts of 103 countries in America, Europe, Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and the Pacific, as well as jurisprudence of human rights monitoring bodies. He analyses the judicial application of human rights law to demonstrate empirically the universality of contemporary human rights norms.
The Protection Role and Jurisprudence of the United Nations Human Rights Council by
This book places under scrutiny for the first time, whether and how, the United Nations Human Rights Council actually contributes to the protection of human rights in the face of pervasive gross violations world-wide. It finds that the Council does little of preventive protection, some mitigatory protection, and little remedial or compensatory protection. The Council's response to situations of gross violations depends on the political alignments within its membership for each situation. The Council gives priority to cooperation and dialogue over principled denunciations of gross violations. It is not an organ of justice, but in some instances it is an organ for justice, inasmuch as it addresses the structural causes of violations. Much useful fact-finding takes place under the auspices of the Council, and it does contribute to the progressive development of international law.
Integrated Human Rights in Practice by
This book aims to introduce concrete and innovative proposals for an holistic approach to supranational human rights justice through a hands-on legal exercise: the rewriting of decisions of supranational human rights monitoring bodies. The contributing scholars have thus redrafted crucial passages of landmark human rights judgments and decisions, 'as if human rights law were really one', borrowing or taking inspiration from developments and interpretations throughout the whole multi-layered human rights protection system. In addition to the rewriting exercise, the contributors have outlined the methodology and/or theoretical framework that guided their approaches and explain how human rights monitoring bodies may adopt an integrated approach to human rights law. Integrated Human Rights in Practiceshows that even within the current fragmented landscape of international human rights law, it is possible to integrate human rights to a significantly higher degree than is generally the case. Redrafted opinions deal with major contemporary issues such as conscientious objection by health service providers, intersectional discrimination of minority women, the rights of persons with disabilities, the rights of indigenous peoples against powerful economic interests, and the human rights impact of austerity measures.
MacMillan Library Hybrid Research Services:
Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
MacMillan Library Building Hours (August 19 - November 15, 2024):
Monday - Thursday: 8am - Midnight
Friday: 8am - 8pm
Saturday: 10am - 6pm
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
Reference Desk:
Monday: 10am - 4pm
Tuesday: 10am - 4pm
Wednesday: 10am - 12pm; 2pm - 4pm
Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 1pm
Saturday and Sunday: Closed
IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday:
Saturday - Sunday: Closed
Emory Law Archives:
Physical archives: By appointment only.
Digital archives: More information available here.
Limited remote services are available on a case-by-case basis.
Questions? Email Anna Sturgill, Law Librarian for Archives and Assessment Services
