Research Guides: AAS 385 / HIST 396 / PHIL 385 / WGS 314: Critical Race Theory (Main): Find Articles and Data

Types of Databases

The Emory Libraries have a large number of databases that can help you with your research. You can search in two different types of databases.

Multidisciplinary databases - Include both popular and scholarly sources on a wide range of topics. Consider trying the multidisciplinary database Academic Search Complete as a place to get started with a research project.
Subject-specific databases - Include scholarly and specialized articles from a specific discipline. See the Databases @ Emory list to get a sense of what subject-specific databases are available to you.

We also have databases that can help you locate sources like videos, images, data sets, data visualizations, primary sources, newspapers, interviews, etc.

Google Scholar is also a great place to search for articles. Use these directions to ensure that you can both find and access material from Google Scholar at the Emory Libraries.

Pro-tip: always scour through the bibliographies of the articles you're reading that relate to your research area/topic. Often you'll find that someone else has done the legwork of compiling articles/books directly relevant to your research interest!

Recommended Databases

To find scholarly articles on the critical race theory, start by searching one of the multi-disciplinary or subject-specific databases below. For a comprehensive list of databases at Emory go to Emory's A-Z Database List.

Subject Specific

Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window Contains material for black studies including essays, periodicals, reference books, the Schomburg Studies, and more.
Black Studies Center seamlessly integrates the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP), and full-text access to historical back-files of Chicago Defender from 1935-1975, a prominent black newspaper. The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience consists of commissioned essays by scholars in the field and a collection of primary resources that includes photographs and video clips.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Provides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Hein Online This link opens in a new window Contains over 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. The most popular HeinOnline libraries include the Law Journal Library, the Session Laws Library, and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, with exact page images of the documents in PDF format just as they appear in the original print.
For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Indexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index, Ethnic and Racial Studies
Content relates to the relationship between races and ethnicities. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, ideology, and community relations. Key sources include such as Race & Class, Ethnic & Racial Studies, and Journal of Social Issues.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Prominent source for scholarly journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations in U.S. & Canadian history. Covers sources published from the 1960s to present.

Multi-disciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associated Press, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Access a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
Note: You may not be able to access the most current 2–7 years of certain journals—but many of these recent publications are found in Project MUSE.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

Relevant Research Guides

You will find more resources that are relevant to this class in:

Find Data

Data Services Research Guide