Women's History - Primary Source Databases
-
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new windowContains material for the study of women's history in the world, including books, pamphlets, periodicals and more. Materials span four centuries and many different languages.
-
North American Women's Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new windowContains the diaries and letters of large number of women writers. Fully searchable, the contents also include biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the material.
-
Women & Social Movements This link opens in a new windowIncludes primary and secondary sources on the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
-
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowAn archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture. Access the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Prominent themes include gender, social history, economics, media, politics and more. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005.
WGSS Librarian
Emory University
Robert W. Woodruff Library
404-712-2833
Find eJournals
Visit our eJournals A-Z page to search for electronic journals by title.
Recommended Databases
Journal articles are located in individual journal titles as well as in databases. The following databases provide good coverage of WGSS research.
NOTE: You can also search for databases by subject and title on the Emory Libraries A-Z Databases page.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications. Access broad ranging resources that include full-text journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and video content from the Associate Press etc.
-
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new windowCovers information on women from journals, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies. Focused towards the disciplines of sociology, psychology, law, health, education, and business.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAccess a wide variety of journal articles in the humanities and other disciplines.
-
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journals in philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and more.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most recently published output of many major scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, cultural studies, education, political science, and more.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowProduced by the National Library of Medicine, this biomedical database includes over 30 million citations and dates back to 1946.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowCollection of international sources on women's studies journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, theses, web sites and documents, and more.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Using Databases to Find Articles
Databases like JSTOR and Academic Search Complete provide citations and/or full text of journal articles, books, and other materials. Emory University Libraries enable access to the contents of more than 400 databases. See our Databases page for a complete listing. For help with searching databases, see our Finding Articles at Woodruff research guide.
Access from off-campus is available only to current Emory University students, faculty and staff, and requires an Emory Network ID and password.