Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAW 747E - Law and Legal Professionals (Prof. Romig - Spring 2021): Open Access Resources

Open Access

Questions for the MacMillan Law Library?

General Questions? 
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):
          Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021):
          Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
          Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
          Saturday: Closed
          Sunday: Noon - 6pm

Virtual Reference Desk (Zoom Meeting ID: 930-5184-4067) 
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Virtual Help Desk

Email us at lawstudent-help@emory.edu and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.

Open Access Books

Open Access Books

  • This directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer-reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards: Directory of Open Access Books
  • The Online Library and Publication Platform is a quality-controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of hosting, deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation: OAPEN 
  • Project Muse provides some open access content to books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies, like John's Hopkins University and Duke University: Open Access on MUSE

Open Access Scholarly Articles

Open Access Scholarly Articles

  • ​​​The Law Review Commons brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. Articles are available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories: Law Review Commons
  • The American Bar Association's Legal Technology Resource Center publishes this free search engine covering the free full-text of over 300 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports: Free Full-text Online Law Review/Law Journal Search Engine 
  • For interdisciplinary fields, check out the Directory of Open Access Journals, which is a database that contains around 12000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, and humanities: DOAJ
  • The Open Library of Humanities is a charitable organization dedicated to publishing open access scholarship. All academic articles are subject to rigorous peer review. This collection primarily publishes research in the humanities – from classics, modern languages and cultures, philosophy, theology and history, to political theory, sociology, anthropology, film and new media studies, and digital humanities: OLH
  • Here is also a list of open access journals in the field of media and communications research: International Association for Media and Communciations Research

Open Access Legal News

For law-specific news sites, check out: 

  • The American Bar Association Journal provides legal news daily, along with analysis written by attorneys who are experts in their fields. You can find articles on the latest news or search by subject or jurisdiction: ABA Journal
  • The National Law Review publishes legal news, often written by lawyers from many premier law firms. The NLR shows what is trending in the legal world, including trending legal news and Top 20 NLR Keywords: The National Law Review
  • Powered by a mostly-volunteer team of law student reports and editors, in conjunction with the Univesity of Pittsburg, Jurist is a web-based legal news and real-time legal research service: Justia

For general news outlets that provide specific legal coverage: 

  • Reuters Legal News section provides up to the minute coverage of national and international legal news. Since Reuters is a news organization, the articles focus more on lay aspects of cases, rather than practice pointers, court opinions, and rule changes: Reuters Legal
  • The National Public Radio provides legal coverage in written and audio format: NPR Law 

Open Access Explains