Portals for Special Collections and Archival Repositories Outside of the US
Image: British Museum Reading Room Panorama. Photo by Diliff from Wikimedia Commons.
Before you embark on your research trip outside Georgia or the US, you must identify the archival repositories and special collections that hold the research materials relevant for your research project. The following databases will help you locate and narrow the list of archival repositories you wish to consult. Please check the website of each institution/repository to familiarize yourself with their policies and prepare accordingly.
- Abhilekh Patal Portal for Access to Archives and Learning"Abhilekh Patal contains the reference media of more than 2.7 million files held by the National Archives of India." - https://www.abhilekh-patal.in/jspui/
- Access to Russian Archives"Access to Russian Archives is an online database containing descriptions of approximately 80,000 archival fonds (record groups) from more than 20 guidebooks on Russian federal archives and 40 regional archives published from 1987 to 2004. Both printed and handwritten guides are available in digital formats, providing the most comprehensive access to the holdings of the entire Russian archive system in one simple, user-friendly electronic format." - Access to Russian Archives
- ArchiveGridA point of entry to worldwide archival holdings. Search for and view archival manuscript collection descriptions, locate relevant research institutions, arrange visits, or request copies from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives
- ARCHIVESCANADA.ca"ARCHIVESCANADA.ca is a gateway to archival resources found in over 800 repositories across Canada--it's your gateway to Canada's collective memory!" - http://www.archivescanada.ca/
- Archives nationalesThe French National Archives collects, preserves, provides access to the archival holdings of the government, central administration, etc.
- Archives Portal EuropeThe Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.
- Das Bundesarchiv (The German Federal Archives)The Federal Archives provides access to documents (files, papers, cartographic records, pictures, posters, films, sound recordings and machine-readable data) arising from the central institutions of the Holy Roman Empire (1495-1806), the German Confederation (1815-1866), the German Reich (1867/71-1945), the occupation zones (1945-1949), the German Democratic Republic (1949-1990) and the Federal Republic of Germany (since 1949)." - Das Bundesarchiv
- International Institute of Social History (IISH)"Archives and archival finding aids may be searched in the catalogue. Descriptions of Dutch archives are in Dutch, the other ones are in English. " - The International Institute of Social History (IISH)
- LANIC: ArchivesPlease Note: That the information in this website may be outdated because it is no longer updated. LANIC: Archives provides information about the U.S. Holdings of Latin American and Caribbean Collections and the archival holdings of several Latin American and Caribbean countries.
- National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) of the United StatesThe National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the United States' repository of historical records.
- The National Archives of India"The National Archives of India is the custodian of the records of enduring value of the Government of India. Established on 11 March, 1891 at Calcutta (Kolkata) as the Imperial Record Department, it is the biggest archival repository in South Asia. It has a vast corpus of records viz., public records, private papers, oriental records, cartographic records and microfilms, which constitute an invaluable source of information for scholars-administrators and users of archives." - The National Archives of India
- National Archives of IrelandResearchers can find information about the archival sources and the research guides in their holdings.
- UK National ArchivesResearchers can access research guides and digitized collections from their website.
- WorldCatWorldCat provides access to information about archival holdings from several libraries around the world. However, it does not cover all the special collections and archival repositories of all countries.