Images: Finding and Using Digital Images

America's Historical Documents: National Archives
A database of America's most important and interesting historical documents, from the most recognized to the most surprising.

America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)

Library of Congress: Digital Collections
A national archive project that collects all sorts of historical materials including digital reproductions of photographs, maps, prints, etc.

• African American Odyssey

• American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920

• The American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
• American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
• A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875
• The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
• The Hannah Arendt Papers at the Library of Congress
• Prairie Settlement: Nebraska Photographs and Family Letters, 1862-1912
• Prosperity and Thrift: The Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
• Words and Deeds in American History: Selected Documents Celebrating the Manuscript Division's First 100 Years

National Park Services: Harpers Ferry Center
Includes an historic photo collection of more than two million images of national park architecture, Civilian Conservation Corps, Native American heritage, and more.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery 
An image database taken directly from primary sources at the New York Public Library. Browse by general topic area or search by keyword.

Russian Posters Collection; 1919-1989
Consists of 75 Russian posters, documenting almost 60 years of Communist political advertising (1920s-1980s).