Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LAW 806A - The Right to Go to War (Prof. van der Vyver, Spring 2019): Home

The Right to Go to War

Photo by ux-gun on unsplash

Questions for the Law Library?

General Questions? 
Please complete this Questions for the Law Library? form.

Faculty Research Question?
Please complete our Faculty Request form.

Student Research Question?
Please complete our Student Research Request form. 

MacMillan Library Virtual Research Services (January 4, 2021 - May 14, 2021):

Monday - Friday: 9am - 5pm

MacMillan Library Building Hours (January 19, 2021 - May 14, 2021)

Monday - Thursday: 8am - 9pm
Friday: 8am - 6:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Noon - 6pm

Virtual Reference Desk (Zoom Meeting ID: 930-5184-4067) 
Monday - Thursday: 10am - 4pm
Friday: 10am - 2pm
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Help Desk:
Monday - Friday: 10am - 5pm 
Saturday - Sunday: Closed

IT Virtual Help Desk
Email us at lawstudent-help@emory.edu and we'll reach out to you via Zoom.

Introduction

With the writing component of your seminar in mind, we have compiled a listing of useful resources on the law of war and international law. If you have any questions, please request a student consult with a librarian using the form linked on the left hand side of this guide.

Starting Points

Research Guides:  Find resources and links on international law

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law: Detailed articles on international law topics, with citations, document lists, and bibliographies. Includes links to documents and the Oxford Law Citator for finding citation form and related citing documents.

Oxford Bibliographies on International Law: Extensive bibliographies of law review articles, treatises, jurisprudence, and documents of international organizations on topics in international law. 

Parry and Grant's Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law (3rd edition online; older edition in print - KZ1161 .P37 2004). Definitions with citations and links.

Restatement of the Law - The Foreign Relations of Law of the United States:  Principles of U.S. foreign relations and international law, with citations to cases, treatises and secondary sources. Available online through Westlaw , Lexis, and Hein Onlineand at Range 301.

CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are prepared for congressional committees and staff on topics including international law and U.S. foreign policy. Find a complete collection on Proquest Congressional, collections arranged by topic on congress.gov and everycrsreport.comand subject-oriented collections related to national security, foreign policy, and weapons on the site of the Federation of American Scientists

 

  

Subject Guide