International Court of Justice (Reports of Judgments also found in Westlaw, Lexis, and Hein Online): Judgments and court documents on disputes between sovereign states. The court's website includes pending cases, oral and written proceedings, orders, and summaries of judgments and orders.
The website of the International Criminal Court includes decisions of the court, investigations by the court, and rules and regulations of procedure in the Official Journal. The court's Legal Tools Database has ICC documents and legal instruments, decisions of international criminal courts and tribunals and national courts on international criminal law and human rights, and national implementing legislation. Situations and Cases lists cases before the court with documents for each case.
Oxford Reports on International Law: Modules include International Law in Domestic Courts, International Criminal Law, and International Human Rights Law, with filters by subject and state party. The long subject list for browsing includes topics like use of force; war, peace, & neutrality; and settlement of disputes; you can also browse by state party. The Oxford Law Citator provides citations to documents, case details, and related citing cases and documents.
UN International Law Commission: Treaties and Analytical guide with reports and documents.
UN Legal Publications and Yearbooks (un.org and Hein Online): Publications on the UN’s work including international law.
UN Audiovisual Library of International Law: Preparatory documents by treaty. Find UN treaties by subject, with procedural history and documents.
Repertoire of Practice of the Security Council: Activities of the Security Council, arranged by year and by Chapter and Article of the UN Charter. Chapter VII is on Actions with Respect to Threats to the Peace, Breaches of the Peace, and Acts of Aggression. More recent Security Council actions are summarized in Highlights of Security Council Practice.
Security Council Resolutions: Resolutions arranged by year and number, with topic headings, usually states and regions with armed conflicts.
The Security Council Report, an unofficial publication on the Security Council, has news, forecasts, and key documents on Security Council actions arranged by country and region or by theme, including Authorisations to Use Force.
UN General Assembly Sixth Committee: The Sixth Committee is the primary forum for the consideration of legal questions in the General Assembly. Their website includes compilations of General Assembly resolutions on the recommendation of the Sixth Committee and reports related to international law.
UN Official Documents System Search: Search for full-text of United Nations Resolutions and Documents. Search by fields including document symbol, title, date, subject, and full-text.
Hein Online United Nations Law Collection: Includes treaties, ICJ judgments and opinions, International Law Commission publications, commentaries on the UN Charter, and Resolutions and Decisions of the General Assembly.
International Legal Materials. (American Society of International Law). Available on Westlaw, Lexis, and Hein Online. New primary documents in international law, including treaties and agreements, international and national court decisions on international law, and UN resolutions and documents.
For historical research on the United Nations, the journal International Organization (available on JSTOR) published regular summaries in the 1940s-1960s of the activities of the Security Council, other UN bodies and other international organizations (including NATO), drawn from and summarizing official documents, as well as articles with analysis of the UN and the Security Council.
How Does Law Protect in War?: Online casebook from the ICRC, with introductions to the themes of international humanitarian law, practice case studies by topic, region, and document type, IHL courses, and an online annotated dictionary with links to documents and cases related to IHL terms.
Geneva Conventions, Protocols, and Commentaries
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) International Humanitarian Law Treaties and Documents: Find treaties and documents by topic, date or country. Text of the 1949 Geneva conventions and protocols with member state information.
International Humanitarian Law National Implementation database: National caselaw and laws and regulations implementing the treaties.
ICRC Resource Centre: Search publications or find by issue or category. The database includes reports, articles, guides, and annual reports related to international humanitarian law.
ICRC War & Law issue page: Find the ICRC statements, articles, and video by topics including Civilians, Methods and Means of Warfare, Cyber Warfare, and Jus Ad Bellum.
ICRC Customary International Humanitarian Law: Analysis of the customary rules of international humanitarian law. Customary practice rules by chapter, rule, or country, with treaty articles, national military manuals, and summaries of state practice from legislation, caselaw, and official statements.
ICRC Library's International Humanitarian Law Bibliography: Compiles references in new publications by topic (types of conflicts, multilnational forces, conduct of hostilities) and includes links to full-text articles and reports. Note that it's not cumulative; check all recent issues for new publications on your topic.
Armed Conflict Database: Statistics, news, and developments on armed conflicts worldwide, including those involving non-state armed groups. Search the database or browse by conflict or group.
RULAC: Rule of Law in Armed Conflicts: Database with explanations of law on the use of force with classifications and information on particular armed conflicts.
