U.S. Department of State: Find press releases, reports, and other information by policy area, topic, or country
Department of State Office of the Legal Adviser: State Department source for treaties, including Treaties in Force and TIAS, and information on U.S. international law.
Digest of U.S. Practice in International Law (also on Hein Online): Annual State Department publication on U.S. practice in international law, with summaries, text of documents, and links to documents. Use the Table of Contents and find chapters with the same subject arrangement each year. For example, Chapter 17 is on international conflict resolution and avoidance, and chapter 18 is on use of force.
Foreign Relations of the United States (also on Hein Online): Historical record of U.S. foreign policy. Volumes by administration and issue, with documents 1861-1980. Search by keyword, section, date, or search or browse heading within volumes.
CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are prepared for congressional committees and staff on topics including international law and U.S. national security policy. Find a complete collection on Proquest Congressional, a collections arranged by topic at EveryCRSReport.com and Congress.gov, and a and subject-oriented collection related to national security, foreign policy, and weapons on the site of the Federation of American Scientists.
Congressional hearings and reports: See the documents of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and House Foreign Affairs Committee:
Library of Congress: Military Legal Resources: Links to U.S. military law resources, including Manuals for Courts Martial, the Law of Armed Conflict Deskbook, U.S. Army Field Manuals, and collections of historical war crimes materials.
Military legal manuals can be also be found at:
Department of Defense Law of War Manual 2015: With a May 2016 update. Manual with information for personnel executing military operations, including when the law of war applies and rules on the conduct of hostilities
The Commander's Handbook on the Law of Land Warfare: Guide to the Law of Armed Conflict for Army and Marine Corps commanders and judge advocates
U.S. Naval War College International Law Studies: Journal on international law focusing on the law of armed conflict and the law governing the use of force.
MERLN (Military Education Research Library Network): Collections of documents related to U.S. military and national security policy.
Digital National Security Archive (subscription database): Declassified government documents on U.S. national security policy, including chronologies and bibliographies.
Treatises and books for background on national security law include:
Government documents related to national security and the U.S. military can be found in:
NATO Basic Texts: Treaties, Agreements, and Policy Documents
NATO Library Research Guides: With timelines and links to documents
NATO Encyclopedia: Thematic Index of NATO topics and missions
NATO Legal Deskbook (2010 2d edition): Introduction to NATO legaldocuments, international law, and law of armed conflict for NATO legal advisers
The NATO Handbook (2006): Introduction and information on policy-making and structure of NATO
Sources of State Practice in International Law KZ64 .S67 2014: Descriptions of sources for treaties and state practice, both print and online.
Military Justice in the Modern Age, K4754 .M555 2016. Chapters on military justice by country
Foreign Law Guide Database: Citations to national laws by country and topic, including Defense and National Security
Hein Online: International Yearbooks and Periodicals: Yearbooks of international law
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World: Links to Parliaments, courts, government sites, Official Gazettes and statutes, guides, and general sources of information on other countries
Northwestern University Library Guide: List of Foreign Governments: Links to Parliaments and government agencies, including Ministries of Foreign Affairs
FAS: World Intelligence and Security Agencies: Links by country to intelligence and national security agencies, with reports and secondary sources
