Research Guides: Business Research: Alternative Investments (Startups, PE, VC & Hedge Funds)

Private Equity, Venture Capital & Startups

Overview of Venture Capital Industry
An overview from National Venture Capital Association on how the innovation funding cycle works.

Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
Premium database of data, research and target firms by industry and financing history. Includes startups, VC and PE-backed companies, as well as mature private and public firms; data, research and technology covers the private capital markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A transactions. PitchBook provides comprehensive M&A, private equity, and venture capital data, as well as daily industry news and analysis. Tips to register for Pitchbook: https://business.library.emory.edu/documents/databases/pitchbook-register.pdf
For more information, please check out the Business Library's help pages: https://business.library.emory.edu/research-learning/databases/pitchbook.php

Techcrunch
The “go to” website for timely news, etc. about tech company VC/PE activity, analysis of tech emerging trends, and profiling of new tech businesses and products. Free registration allows access to additional information.
Crunchbase News
A platform for finding business information about private and public companies, with a particular strength in startups. Crunchbase information includes investments and funding information, founding members and individuals in leadership positions, mergers and acquisitions, news, and industry trends

Pratt's Guide to Private Equity & Venture Capital Sources.
Call Number: BUS REF HG 65 .P73
Directory of U.S. private equity and venture capital firms. Also includes introduction to private equity and statistics for buyout firms, venture firms, and mezzanine firms.
Encyclopedia of Alternative Investments by Ed. Greg N. Gregoriou. CRC Press. 2009.
Call Number: BUS REF HG 4513 .E53

The Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Capital Sources. GreyHouse Publishing
Call Number: BUS REF HG 4751 .F582
Contact information and investment and fund data for 2300+ U.S. and international venture capital and private equity firms.

PE/VC Statistics & Reports

PriceWaterhouseCooper's Money Tree Survey
The PwC MoneyTree website is home to the PwC/CB Insights quarterly MoneyTree Report. It contains historical trend data (beginning in 1995), updates on the venture capital and high-growth startups ecosystem and relevant insights from PwC’s emerging company services and venture capital tax, audit and advisory professionals. The PwC/CB Insights MoneyTree Report is the definitive source of information on venture capital investments in emerging companies.
National Venture Capital Association Yearbook
Annual comprehensive analysis of U.S. venture capital industry statistics; includes venture capital funds, venture capital investments into entrepreneurial companies and venture-backed exits (mergers and acquisitions as well as IPOs). The NVCA site also includes additional statistics and reports so take the time to explore the site.
National Venture Capital Association Statistics
Find reports and statistics on venture investments, fundraising, benchmarking, exits, and performance.
Emerging Markets Private Equity Association
Includes data, surveys, case studies, and more; while some of the content is for members-only, there is a lot which is free.
Global Venture Capital and Private Equity Attractiveness Index
Tracks the attractiveness of risk capital investments around the world; includes ranking, heat map, and regional and country profiles.
European Venture Capital Association
Global Private Equity Report 2019. Bain & Company
A comprehensive view of the challenges that private equity investors face following a decade of volatility and change, as well as what it will take to succeed in 2019.
Private Equity Trend Report 2019. PWC
10th annual survey on current developments in European private equity investment.
Preqin Free Research
A leading source of alternative assets data and intelligence, Preqin provides data and information on the private equity, real estate, hedge fund, infrastructure, private debt and natural resources asset classes; Find latest trends in alternative assets, as well as benchmarking tools, useful presentation slide decks from recent conferences and much more. Some key data is available for free on the website; registration might be required.
Pitchbook Reports
Many of Pitchbook’s current reports on PE, VC, and M&A are available for free. The collection of timely videos and news & analysis are also excellent sources of current trends. Register for Pitchbook.com to access premium content.
Invest Europe
Formerly the European Venture Capital Association, publishes statistics, reports and news; look for the annual yearbook for a compilation of data.
American Investment Council
The AIC is focused on the private investment industry and impact on long-term growth of the U.S. economy; includes industry statistics, reports and case studies.
Venture Pulse: Global Analysis of Venture Funding. KPMG/CB Insights
KPMG Enterprise’s Global Network for Innovative Startups launched the Q1’19 edition of the Venture Pulse Report. The report analyses the latest global trends in venture capital investment data and provides insights from both a global and regional perspective. This edition of the quarterly series provides in-depth analysis on venture capital investments across North America, EMA and ASPAC and will cover a range of issues such as financing and deal sizes, unicorns, industry highlights and corporate investment.
Angel Resource Institute. Willamette University
Highlights angel investment activity and trends in North America; published in partnership with Pitchbook.
Latin American Private Equity and Venture Capital Association
LVCA is a not-for-profit membership organization dedicated to supporting the growth of private equity and venture capital industry in Latin America. It is comprised of over 170 firms, from leading global investment firms active in the region to local fund managers from Mexico to Argentina. The web site provides relevant industry resources for Latin America private equity and venture capital fund managers and investors.
Small Business Investor Alliance
Full-text of investment insight reports covering lower middle market. SBIA defines lower middle market as a subset of the US economy that represents small to medium sized businesses that earn between $10m and $100m in annual revenues; deals for businesses between $10m and $100m in total enterprise value; and private equity funds that raise up to $500m in capital.

Hedge Fund Statistics & Reports

Understanding Hedge Funds

Consulting Firms’ Hedge Fund Portals
A number of the large consulting firms publish data, surveys, articles and reports on hedge fund and other alternative investments.

To explore other consulting firms (Deloitte, Pwc, EY, Kpmg, Bain, BCG, Mckinsey, Accenture), run the following search in Google; only search for one firm at a time, changing the inurl:commend for each additional firm.

Example:

(hedge funds) inurl:mckinsey.com
(hedge funds) inurl:bain.com

Hedge Fund Marketing Association
Includes an industry blog, compensation, glossary, fund indexes, research, and more.
Hedge Fund Association
Includes definitions, news, articles, tips, and other information on the hedge fund industry.
Managed Funds Association
Global association for investment managers in hedge funds, futures and other alternative investments. Includes research, reports, presentations, studies, news, and more.
Preqin Free Research
A leading source of alternative assets data and intelligence, Preqin provides data and information on the private equity, real estate, hedge fund, infrastructure, private debt and natural resources asset classes; Find latest trends in alternative assets, as well as benchmarking tools, useful presentation slide decks from recent conferences and much more. Some key data is available for free on the website; registration might be required.