Databases
You can find online scholarly articles, primary sources, newspapers, and other information resources in academic databases. It is often more effective to consider what field the subject you are researching is in and selecting a database through "By Subject."
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineAn encyclopedia of more than 700 articles covering the music of the world's peoples, from the earliest known traditions to current practices. It encompasses articles on geographic areas, nations, and ethnic groups, as well as discussion of trends and issues in scholarship. Also includes streaming audio examples.
-
Music IndexIndex to periodical articles on music. Coverage is international in scope and includes music of all periods and genres, musical instruments, composers, performers, the music industry, and other music-related topics.
In addition to comprehensive coverage of periodicals devoted to music, provides selective indexing of journals in related disciplines and of some general titles. The print version of Music Index goes back to 1949. -
Music Periodicals DatabaseIndexes articles from more than 430 journals from about 20 countries, and selectively indexes some newspapers. Coverage begins with 1996 except for a selection of journals indexed in their entirety.
-
Oxford Music OnlineIncludes Grove Music Online, the primary English-language reference source for music.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureCompiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 202 languages from 5,200 journals.
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusMajor index of scholarly and popular film journals. Includes full text access to selected titles.
-
Communication and Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides indexing and some full text for journals in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with other journals.
Journals and Serials
Available at Emory
Film Music *Available Online & in Print
ISSN 1087-7142 Professional voice of music for film and television promoting the free flow of information among composers as a resource for amateurs and professionals
Journal of Film Music *Available Online & in Print
ISSN 1087-7142; Journal of the International Film Music Society
Journal of Film and Video *Available DVD & in Print
ISSN 0742-4671; From the University Film and Video Association
The Score: A Music Magazine *Available in Print
OCLC 4900597; Published by the International Music Association
The Soundtrack *Available Online
ISSN 1751-4193; Publishes on the study of the soundtrack as a unified and coherent entity of aural and visual elements
Available via Interlibrary Loan
CinemaScore Informal bimonthly journal devoted to the appreciated, analysis, and review of motion picture music
The Cue Sheet Newsletter of the Society for the Preservation of Film Music
Film Music Noteboo Publication of Elmer Bernstein Film Music Collection distributed quarterly to members
Film Music Notes Official publication of the National Film Music Council later titled Film Music (1951-1956) and then Film and TV Music (1956-1958)
Film Score Monthly A leading voice in film music appreciation and soundtrack collection for over 15 years
Fistful of Soundtracks: The Movie Music Magazine UK Publication from Premiere Productions in London
From Silents to Satellite Journal of British film and television music
Hollywood Scores Journal of American film and television music published quarterly by ed. John Williams
Main Title Quarterly newsletter of the Entr'acte Recording Society
Music from the Movies Quarterly fan magazine from England on British and American film music
New Zealand Film Music Bulletin Quarterly fan magazine for film music enthusiasts and soundtrack collectors
The Score Published by American Society of Music Arrangers
Sound Track: Music n’ Movies, Music in Movies A fan magazine known for documenting the local music scene
Soundtrack! The Collector’s Quarterly Quarterly newsletter published by Luc Van de Ven (formally known as SCN: Soundtrack Collector’s Newsletter and Soundtrack)
Film Music Websites
-
Classical Music in MoviesIdentifies classical pieces used in films. Coverage limited to pieces available through Naxos Music Library.
-
Film Music SocietyThe Resources and Links section has links to composers' and song writers' websites.
VideoAnt
VideoAnt is a web-based video annotation tool for mobile and desktop devices used to add annotations or comments to web-hosted videos.