Guide to Call Numbers
Prefixes Subject Ranges
Scores and Books have call numbers beginning with...
M for scores
ML for music literature
MT for instruction and study
Media call numbers at Emory start with...
CD for compact disc
DISC for LP (vinyl) phonodiscs
VCD for Video CDs
DVD for DVDs
BLU-RAY for Blu-Rays
| M 1527.2 | Film Music Scores |
| ML 102 .M75 | Dictionaries of Film Music |
| ML 410 .A-.Z | Biographies of Individual Composers |
| ML 2075 | Film Music History & Criticism |
| MT 64 .M65 | Film Music Instruction & Study |
| MT 737 | Film Music Instruction & Study |
| PN 1995.9 .M86 | Musical Films |
Key Sources
The Routledge Companion to Screen Music and Sound by Call Number: ML2075 .R677 2017ISBN: 9781138855342Publication Date: 2017-05-30
Film and Television Music by Call Number: ML128 .M7 S545 2011ISBN: 9780810876866Publication Date: 2010-12-29
The Encyclopedia of Motion Picture Sound by Call Number: TK7881.4 .M47 2001ISBN: 9780786410231Publication Date: 2001-03-15
A History of Film Music by Call Number: ML2075 .C68 2008ISBN: 9780521811736Publication Date: 2008-09-25
The Oxford Handbook of Film Music Studies by Call Number: ML2075 .O93 2014ISBN: 9780195328493Publication Date: 2013-12-10
The Routledge Film Music Sourcebook by Call Number: ML2075 .R68 2012ISBN: 9780415888745Publication Date: 2011-08-29
Keeping Score by Call Number: ML128 .M7 M28 1998ISBN: 9780810834163Publication Date: 1998-10-01Music & Media Library Reference
A Research Guide to Film and Television Music in the United States by Call Number: ML3797 .P65 2011ISBN: 9780810876880Publication Date: 2010-12-28
Series
The Routledge Music and Screen Media Series offers edited collections of original essays on music in particular genres of cinema, television, video games, and new media. These edited essay collections are written for an interdisciplinary audience of students and scholars of music and film and media studies.
Interdisciplinary
Handbook of Music and Emotion by Call Number: ML3830 .H195 2010ISBN: 9780199230143Publication Date: 2010-02-22
Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology by Call Number: ML3830 .O9 2009ISBN: 9780199298457Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Google Books
Find thousands of books complete online. Search the full text of everything Google has scanned. Where the complete text isn't available, use the built-in tool to find the nearest library holding the title.
HathiTrust
A digital archive of library materials that have been converted from print.
Internet Text Archive, including Open Library.
Composers
Soundtracks: an international dictionary of composers for film by Call Number: ML102 .M68 C73 1998ISBN: 9781859281895Publication Date: 1998-02-01
Musical Lives by Call Number: ML385 .M83 2002ISBN: 9780198605287Publication Date: 2003-01-02Music & Media Library Reference
Contemporary Composers by Call Number: ML390 .M677 1992ISBN: 1558620850Publication Date: 1992-02-01Music & Media Library Reference
Film Composers in America by Call Number: ML128 .M7 M3 2000ISBN: 9780195114737Publication Date: 2000-04-20- Contemporary American Composers byCall Number: ML390 .A54 1982ISBN: 9780816182237Publication Date: 1982-06-01Music & Media Library Reference
- American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers Biographical Dictionary byCall Number: ML106 .U3 A5 1980ISBN: 9780835212830Publication Date: 1980-11-01
